We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, well run” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Granville Hotel to your Saves list
Granville Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Quay, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Agoura Hills, California
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very good, well run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I were on a tour, joining 43 others.
The general manager came out to personally greet us, was also involved with serving dinner and breakfast - both meals were very good, making sure everything was fine; when we left, he personally came onto the bus and thanked us for visiting Granville and hoped that our visit was pleasant. Hotel is located in a great area, near the Waterford Crystal Museum, as well as right out on the waterfront.
Not sure why, but shower faucets in the UK present a challenge until you get to know how it works. One knob is for temperature, the other knob is for strength of water coming out. And the knobs are very hard to grip when your hands are soaped.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We appreciate your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Granville Hotel. Your comments about the shower I can understand but will see what I can do going forward when they need to be replaced. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and perhaps one day you will visit the Granville again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    175
    58
    27
    14
See reviews for
109
285
16
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed in The Granville hotel with my wife on 16/10/12. With so many hotels empty around Ireland it was great to stay in a hotel with plenty of visitors[Mainly American]. The breakfast was the best I have had in any Irish Hotel at any price [€174 in Killarney for B&B for 1!!]. This hotel is reasonable priced but gives personal service and serves quality food above the Irish Norm .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Our breakfast chefs were delighted to read your review and it gives them courage to introduce a new dish to our breakfast menu which is Blaa Eggs Benedict Waterford Style. Poached egg and ham on a toasted Waterford Blaa with Hollandaise sauce. Perhaps the next time you visit you can try our new dish. Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our room was cozy and luxurious! Modern, updated bathroom! Located in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Parking was easy across the street. Beautiful restaurant and Bar. We travelled through Ireland and UK, this was one of the best breakfasts! Hotel was absolutely charming!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. Our breakfast chefs were delighted to read your review as it a great endorsement of their hard work. It also gives them the courage to introduce a new dish to our breakfast menu which is Blaa Eggs Benedict Waterford Style. Poached egg and ham on a toasted Waterford Blaa with Hollandaise sauce. Perhaps the next time you visit you can try our new dish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The General Manager really knows the hotel business. He is extremely active and is always striving to make his guests experience a good one. This grand old hotel is kept spotless and elgeant. The staff is very friendly and the bar/restaurant is a great place to have a pub dinner. Highly recommend if you are going to be in Waterford. The experience ranks up there with the Ashford Castle but much better management and staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for the great recommendation and for taking the time to write your review. Perhaps you will get to come back sometime and I am sure this review will encourage more people to stay at the Granville Hotel. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Granville Hotel was included in the CIE Gold Tour and it truly had old world charm. I'm writing this review because of the over the top gracious hospitality. I had experimented with my dinner selection and frankly did not like what I had selected. Myra "noticed" I wasn't eating and insisted on exchanging it for another selection (Salmon in Dill sauce which was fabulous). I travel a fair amount and this level of attentiveness to guest satisfaction is rare. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Very good of you to take the time to write your review. Your appreciation of the attentiveness shown to you is very rewarding not only for Myra but for the whole team. Your comments help us to maintain that level of service and again many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Sad to say we stayed at the Granville on the last day of our trip for only one night and were disappointed not to be able to stay longer. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, charming with great views of the river.. The rooms were very clean,comfortable and up to date with amenities. Service was wonderful in the restaurant and pub. You cannot be disappointed if you stay here and try to make it more than one night.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river. Most have balconies if not all. This is a smaller hotel too and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Many thanks and it is indeed great praise to give the hotel. The team will get great encouragement from your review and hopefully you will get to visit the Granville sometime in the future and stay longer, there is just so much to do here in Waterford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagrange, NY
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

OK first of all, I dont mind a little seedy, so I did not have a problem with this part of town. I can see why other reviews stated this fact, as my mother did while we were there, but being in NYC frequently this was not an issue for me!

OK, the hotel was beautiful and has so many authentic Irish characteristics. Very nice and I would definately stay here again. Beds were a little old but rooms were appointed nicely. Bar was a nice pub style venue. The diningroom was very nice and offered a very nice traditional irish breakfast!

The city itself did not offer much in the way of tourism but I was only here one night so it was not an issue!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. Hopefully you can get to stay at the Granville Hotel sometime in the future. Glad you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and that you found the hotel to be authentic and the bar and breakfast were all good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.