We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short and sweet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterford Crystal

Waterford Crystal
The Mall, Waterford Waterford, Ireland
353 51 317000
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #3 of 18 attractions in Waterford
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Originally founded by George and William Penrose in 1783, Waterford crystal is world-renowned for quality and beauty. Have you seen someone blow molten crystal into a vase? Check out the factory tour. Visitors are guided through the factory to see experienced craftsmen at work, creating new crystal pieces. The factory is open to tours, contact the company for details.
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Short and sweet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It's a quick trip to see some of the best Waterford Crystal produce (and ponder over eg. a massive crystal bear for €40000, so make sure you keep the little ones close to you!;)). There's also a lovely café attached to it, so you can relax with a cup a really good coffee.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    233
    71
    19
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband, sister, brother-in-law, and I visited the Waterford Crystal tour on 10/22/13. We arrived and took the tour in the morning. I guess because it was the off-season it was not very busy because we were on a tour with just the four of us. It was like our own private tour. We got to see all the craftsmen at work and even got to talk with a few. Our tour guide was great. She was knowledgable and fun, eager to answer any questions and very engaging. We got to hold a spare award from the People's Choice Awards, which was fun. I felt like the tour was very personal, hands-on, and interactive-not gimacky at all.
I would definitely recommend a visit to the Waterford Crystal. Its educational and fun!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Glade, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A whole new respect for these fine craftsmen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Excellent tour. Would make this a must while visiting Ireland. You will leave with a true respect for these fine craftsmen. You also appreciate the price of this fine crystal!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio U.S.A
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“not the treasure it was!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

it has changed and not for the better so I think we'll skip it next time we visit the area! sad I've been to it at least 8 times in the past!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good tour and a great store”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We hesitated on taking the tour thinking it might just be a sales pitch but in the end it was well worth it. Our guide was informative and interesting. We found they put a lot of effort into making sure we saw first hand all aspects of the glass making. The workers there were so focused on their detailed work - it was amazing to see. And no real sales pitch (but we did buy something in the store and never regretted it for a minute)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterford Crystal also viewed

 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Waterford Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterford Crystal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Waterford Crystal to your Saves list