We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterford Marina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Waterford Marina Hotel to your Saves list
Waterford Marina Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is nice enough and what you'd expect for three stars. The bed was okay, shower was average, and the television was old. Of course we aren't on holiday to watch t.v., so not a big deal. Overall it was clean and mostly quiet. Breakfast in the restaurant in the morning had typical choices and quality. As we've found all Irish people, this staff was helpful and friendly - surely the highlight of the location. Being on the river is nice, but I wouldn't say it is scenic. The location being on the edge gives you a short walk to the sites in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience in the Waterford Marina Hotel with Tripadvisor readers, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, I appreciate you taking the time to put up photographs to show your room and views. I hope you both enjoyed the rest of your break away and look forward to meeting you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    246
    87
    21
    5
See reviews for
109
286
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a lovely room right next to the river which was spacious and comfortable. Facilities of the hotel (car parking, wifi, food and drink) were all again above average as was all the very helpful staff. Only minor complaint was the breakfast selection was limited. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your holiday to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am delighted that you both enjoyed your time with us and on foot of your comment regarding breakfast we have revisited our inhouse procedures to ensure all our guests are aware of the full extent of our breakfast menu's.
Many thanks again for your kind comments about the hotel and we look forward to meeting you both on your return visit.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I've stayed a few times at the Waterford Marina Hotel now and can thoroughly and unreservedly recommend the comfort of the beds, the cleanliness, the simple spacious rooms with river views, the top-notch breakfast coffee and the warmth and professionalism of the staff.

Having had a superb dinner here in the restaurant on the previous stay I was looking forward to lunch on my last trip, but found the bar food not just disappointing by comparison, but positively awful. The chips were vile, made with totally the wrong texture of potato so they were floury instead of crispy - whilst somehow managing to be both soggy and dry at the same time. Horrid mouth-feel. My steak was gristly and overcooked and not even hot when it arrived.

So - feel confident in breakfast and dinner - but I would avoid the bar lunches based on this experience.

Good parking by the way. Most hotels in Waterford do not have their own parking so it's a real bonus to be able to park safely and not worry about getting a parking ticket at 8.30 the next morning.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to reveiw the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am delighted to see that you have chosen to return to us on a few occasions and I would welcome the opportunity to introduce myself to you on your next visit.
I apologise for the shortcomings you experienced on this visit and have discussed your comments with the Head Chef who is committed to ensuring our guests enjoy their food with us in both the Waterfront Restaurant and Bar.

I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Waterford City and in the meantime I hope you have an enjoyable Summer.
Kind Regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We arrived at the Hotel on Sunday afternoon and met Ronan on reception. He was very friendly and efficient. Our room was lovely, clean and comfortable - couldn't have asked for nicer. The restaurant was lovely - food excellent good choices and perfectly served. Lovely friendly staff there too.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are very quiet, in general it is hard to believe the hotel is a ston...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor for the Waterford Marina Hotel, I am so glad you enjoyed your few days away and it is very nice of you to remember Ronan who is the newest member of our reception team and seems to making good impressions already. I have passed on your lovely comments to all departments and we would all hope to meet you both in the near future.

Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Although this hotel was three star it was spotlessly clean and had every amenity we needed. Our room overlooked the river which was almost in touching distance. Quite lovely with the sun shining on it.
The room was basic compared with a four or five star with marble surrounds etc but everything worked properly. The shower was great.the bed comfortable,in fact everything was spot on.
The staff in the hotel were exceptional. They have all worked there for a long time and get on like a family and obviously take pride in their work.
The restaurant was airy, modern and contemporary. BUT the food was amazing. More like a five star hotel. It was the best meal of our holiday.
Terrific value for money

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
I would like to thank you for writing such a lovely review for the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am so glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us, I have passed on your kind comments to all departments and I have to say that I am very lucky to work with such a nice team they really all do their very best to make sure our guests are looked after. I have a special hello and thanks from the kitchen team they are delighted you enjoyed their cooking.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Ireland and we look forward to meeting you all again in the very near future.
Kind regards
Karen and the Team
Waterford Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a UK and Ireland tour. Staff were very pleasant our room was not that large but very clean and well maintained. It is in a nice quiet area but a short walk into town. Food at the hotel for a light dinner and breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Waterford Marina Hotel with Tripadvisor readers, I am delighted to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us and your kind comments are very much appreciated by myself and the team here.
I hope your visit to Ireland was memorable and I can assure you on your return visit to Waterford we will be happy to arrange a river view room.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

A reasonable comfortable room, nice food, though breakfast choice was limited. Biggest disappointment was a narrow bath with a shower curtain which was difficult to wrestle with, fabric shower curtains have no place in a modern hotel! the frustration was somewhat calmed by the lovely river view.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review for the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed our river views but dissappointed to see you did not enjoy our choices on the Waterfront Restaurant Breakfast menu - we have a variety of juices and cereals, selection of breads, scones & croissants plus a selection of fresh/tinned fruit and fruit yoghurts (rhubarb is recommended) For the hot menu we offer - Sausages, Rashers, Black/White pudding, hash browns, beans, tomatos, scrambled and or fried eggs with poached cooked to order plus the fish of the day and cold meats & cheeses prepared to order and chef will also prepare porridge the way you like also cooked to order. The menu's are displayed on all the breakfast tables and we encourage our guests to read them ask for anything they want and if we have it and chef can do it we are happy to get it for you.
I hope that you will stay with us again and welcome the opportunity to introduce myself to you and ensure that you both enjoy all aspects of your next visit.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterford Marina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.