We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, not far from the waterfront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterford Marina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Waterford Marina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waterford Marina Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Waterford
Hastings, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good value, not far from the waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

Good value, not far from the waterfront. Park in the garage, not in the adjacent parking lot!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    211
    76
    16
    6
See reviews for
96
239
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

Look, it's a 3 star hotel, so like the New Zealand travel poster on Flight of the Conchords says, "Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed".
Having said that... It is really clean, the staff are friendly enough and I had a basic but really tasty meal at the restaurant and, despite being on my own, in the corner, whilst a large tour group arrived, ordered and were served etc., I was not forgotten by the staff at all, which is a great credit to them.
I stayed here because it's cheap, I had to get something last minute and I wanted internet access and it's perfectly adequate for that, just don't come here on your honeymoon.

  • Liked — Location, price, internet, availability
  • Disliked — the place is a bit tired.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

We only stayed one night but this hotel surprises.Great night menu good value.Rooms are clean and basic.Good location.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

The staff was very friendly and helpful. When we checked in, they did not have a room for the following night. I asked if they would notify me if they received a cancellation. We had not been in our room 5 minutes when the phone rang. We ended up staying three nights.

The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Even though the view is far from "spectacular," I suggest you try to get a river view room. Ours overlooked the parking lot. When the guests starting rolling back from the pubs at 3 am, the parking lot became the gathering spot for yelling and laughing. Very, very noisy. Woke us up every morning.

They have a very good restaurant and bar. The food was quite good and reasonably priced. Was fun to hear the locals singing along with the live entertainment, doing Hank Williams in Irish brogue.

  • Liked — Frienly service, cleanliness of entire hotel
  • Disliked — Early morning noise from parking lot
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

To be honest, there is little to say about this hotel. It is just adequate, clean, with no thrills at all. I hope that my pictures can document what I'm saying.

My room had a view to the river but to call it "stunning" would be exaggerated.

Try to get it as cheap as possible: they have some special offers but don't expected anything but a run of the mill hotel.

The breakfast was very good though.

Cheers

Oscar

  • Liked — Simple, clean and quiet good location
  • Disliked — A bit expensive as they offer nothing special
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

We stayed four nights at the Marina over a long week-end. It is a very good three-star hotel. We found it comfortable, convenient and excellent value for money. Our room was a good size (one double and one single bed), with a nice view overlooking the river and was clean.

The hotel is well-situated - overlooking the river and just off the main road but an easy short walk to shops and restaurants. The secure car park (you buzz reception to get in) is a definite plus.

We did not eat in the hotel other than breakfast and a snack in the bar, as we were meeting friends and family, so cannot comment on the food.

We will definitely use the hotel again when we go to Waterford. Only a couple of minor complaints - while our room looked over the river it also had a view of the flat roof which, as another reviewer commented, could do with a clean, and for some reason no soap (or other toiletries) were put in our room the first two nights.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

Myself & my husband stayed here for three nights in April & from start to finish we had a wonderful time. Everything we had requested we received, top floor, marina view...We knew our car was secure in the covered very secure car park. Our room was clean & comfortable. We had 2 evening meals in the hotel which were good. Breakfast was great, lots of options & very quickly served. Nothing was greasy or overcooked. The staff could not have been more pleasant if they'd tried and they worked so efficently and always with a smile, the tables were cleaned immediately.

Everyday two small bottles of water were left in our room which we thought was a very nice touch. The hotel is so quiet at night you would not know you were in a hotel.

Great pub 5 min walk away called The Three Shippes, they serve excellent food, & have big flat screens tvs everywhere.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable hotel that serves good food at a reasonable price.

This is a very well run hotel with great staff & I believe if the staff are happy then we'll all be happy.

  • Liked — Quiet & lovely view. Good food & Great staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterford Marina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.