We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterford Marina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Waterford Marina Hotel to your Saves list
Waterford Marina Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We booked the Waterford Marina Hotel when we arrived in Waterford. When we arrived at the hotel they gave us a very large room with a great view overlooking the river. We booked most of our hotels in Ireland last minute and lucked into a few very good rooms. (I wonder if good rooms are held and given away last if not sold) The hotel was a bit dated but nice. We had a very nice supper at Bellissimo, only a short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel is at the end of the main road of hotels but was still in a beautiful location by the wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in the Waterford Marina Hotel with Tripadvisor readers, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were allocated a river view room, most of our rooms have lovely views of the River Suir. It is also nice that you enjoyed one of our great local restaurants. I hope you enjoyed your overall trip to Ireland and would be delighted to welcome you on a return visit in the future.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    246
    87
    21
    5
See reviews for
109
286
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed last week for four days in this fantastic hotel. Decided on Waterford as a good base for a tour of Southern Ireland and what a good decision. Hotel reception were ever so helpful on our arrival and secure car parking was excellen. Room was nice and clean with a lovely river view. The hotel is ideally situated being just around the corner from Waterford Chrystal. The breakfasts were unbelievable. I had the Full Irish and there was an excellent choice of continental if wanted. The Manager came over on our last morning to ask if all was o.k. She was even serving in the restaurant! All the staff were so friendly too!
Another thing to mention is the hotel has lots of tour groups staying, but this did not effect the service or disrupted us at all.Its the first time I have sent in a review on TripAdvisor, but this Hotel was so good I had to tell everyone.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 2nd floor, No noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
You have written such a lovely review for the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I would like to thank you, I appreciate all your kind compliments regarding the hotel reception, food and service. It is very important to all of us here that we do our very best to ensure our guests are looked after and knowing that you have taken the time to write about us after your visit is very uplifting. We look forward to meeting you again in the future and we will make sure you have a river view room for your break.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Creek Qld
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The staff were friendly and helpful. Off street secure parking. Good food and breakfast. Clean comfortable rooms. All this on the waterfront with a good footpath along the river allowing for. A leisurely stroll to town centre. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it based on my stay

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience in the Waterford Marina Hotel with Tripadvisor readers, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much that you would return to us and use us as a base for your holiday. I would like to opportunity to introduce myself on your next visit and maybe give you some information on our lovely City and County.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great in town hotel within walking distance to the Waterford Crystal factory and downtown shopping and restaurants. Free Wifi available in rooms and free on-site secure parking. Staff was nice and helpful.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I appreciate your kind comments regarding our location, free wifi and carparking and I am delighted to see that the staff looked after you during your stay with us.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Ireland and would like to wish you a safe journey back to Arizona.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed a lovely hotel off the main road, checked in earlier then expected, wasn't a problem even though there was a busy festival down the road, room was very adequate, with all the fatalities, lovely beds, clean and spacious overlooking the river. Only a few things I could say to improve, maybe better pillows, use to more fluffy ones, couldn't find any bake beans for breakfast, and would prefer to serve ourselves the hot breakfast ourselves. Excellent baggage service, bags service very quick. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to any traveller

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
I would like to thank you for recommending the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am delighted to see that you checked in earlier than the 2pm, we always try us best to accommodate early arrivals. The Harvest Festival was on in the City during your visit and was very well organised therefore no delays. We look forward to meeting you again in the future and reservations will be happy to ensure you get the same or similar room over the River Suir.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here on our way to Kinsale to break our journey. Great safe parking. The receptionist was a joy so very helpful and cheerful. Rooms were clean and we had views across the river. The bar food was reasonable and again staff pleasant. Entertainment in the evening too though not great and we also had a guest appearance by Batman for photo opportunities? Very strange but amusing and bet his photo appeared on many Facebook pages!

Room Tip: River view we has was room 313
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your holiday to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us on your journey to Kinsale. We look forward to meeting you again at any time in the future and will ensure you have a nice riverview room.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel was brilliant for a three star hotel. We stayed two nights with breakfast both mornings with one dinner in the hotel's restaurant. The price was very reasonable and affordable, the food was perfect and the staff were absolutely brilliant and met all our needs. Could not fault them on anything at all. It is a little bit far from the centre when walking, but that's made up for with the lovely walk along the harbour. Beautifully located as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the marina when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience in the Waterford Marina Hotel with Tripadvisor readers, we are all delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to us and really appreciate your kind comments about our food, service and staff.
We look forward to meeting you again in the near future, there is a lovely christmas festival on in Waterford starting 23rd November called Winterval and it would be great to see you then.
Kind regards
Karen and all the Team
Waterford Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterford Marina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.