We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterford Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waterford Marina Hotel to your Saves list
Waterford Marina Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would recommend it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here on the 1st of December for two nights and would definitely recommend it. From the moment we walked in the door we were made feel welcome, Melissa on reception was really lovely and very friendly. All the staff throughout the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful, from the breakfast staff to housekeeping.

Our room was spacious and very clean, the bed very comfortable. We did hear some music from the bar, but it wasn't on late.

The hotel is within walking distance to the main shopping area, we were going to the theatre which is less than a 5 minute walk. We didn't use our car at all during our stay.

Thank you to everyone at the hotel for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
I would like to thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor for the Waterford Marina Hotel, it really is great to read about everything you enjoyed during your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you both back for a return visit to Waterford City and in the meantime I would like to take this opportunity to wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    309
    94
    24
    6
See reviews for
124
344
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
waterford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My friends and i stayed in Waterford Marina Hotel recently. It was was a fabulous stay. We were treated very well. We arrived and The receptonist Caroline was very friendly and helpful to us. Our room was spotless clean the cleaning staff really do a good job. We got breakfast the next morning and it was delicious. Helen served us breakfast and she was extremely nice. All the staff in this hotel are very nice and helpful which means a lot. Overall, I enjoyed my stay in the Marina and would definitely stay in it again. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Waterford.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review The Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I was delighted to read that you and your friends enjoyed your time with us and most importantly to me and all the staff that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Waterford City.
Looking forward to meeting you again and in the meantime have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Kind regards
Karen and All The Staff
at the
Waterford Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My Girlfriend And I Recently Stayed At The Waterford Marina And I Have To Say It Was A Really Pleasant Stay We Were Looked After From The Minute We Got There To The Minute We Left! The Hotel Is Well Managed And The Staff Are Friendly, Courteous, Very Helpful And Always Have A Smile For You, We Plan On Staying There On Two Trips We Have Planned For Next Year We Were That Pleased With The Service. A High Standard Of Housekeeping Is Maintained And The Rooms Are Spacious And Bright. Also The River Views Really Are Nice To Wake Up To In The Morning. We Had Some Dinner In The Hotel On Our Last Night And The Food Was Delicious. Tasty, Well Presented, Cooked Well And Generous Portions Too And The Ice Cream In The Chocolate Wafer Basket Is Really Good A Must Try! I Really Recommend Staying Here As Its A Lovely Hotel In A Perfect Location To Explore All Waterford City Has To Offer. Also If You Are Driving It Is Easy To get To And They Have A Free Secure Car Park That Is Access Controlled So You Need Not Worry About Your Car! 10/10 Could Not Fault This Hotel :) I Will Be Back Soon!

Room Tip: Just Ask For A River Veiw Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
I would like to thank you for writing such a detailed and complimentary review on Tripadvisor after your recent stay in The Waterford Marina Hotel, it is lovely to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to us and that you are planning return visits in the new year.
We hope that you both have a wonderful Christmas and we look forward to meeting you again in the New Year.
Kind regards
Karen and all the team
at the
Waterford Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here while working in the town for one night. I phone in advance before booking to check if they could accomodate a van in their car park, which was no problem. The room was great and I had a good nights sleep.
I had an evening meal in the bar which was excellent value pub grub. The main dinning room was not open, so I can't comment on it. Be warned the portions are big! Breakfast in the morning was good as it was cooked to order. Checkin and check out was handled fast and efficiently. If your are visiting the town the hotel is in a great location, only 5 minuets walk from the centre of town. I will stay here again the next time I have work in Waterford.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience in the Waterford Marina Hotel with Tripadvisor readers, we are very lucky to have an area that facilitates parking for larger vans/trucks and this is certainly a great advantage for our guests. We all really appreciate your lovely comments about our food, service and staff, we are looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you are working in the city.
Many thanks again
Karen and all the Staff
Waterford Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have just returned from our second stay at the lovely Marina, having spent a few days there in July 2012. This time we travelled with our friends who also thought it was a cracking hotel, and superb value-for-money - we were all lucky enough to be allocated spacious, river view rooms. The staff at the Marina are all friendly and helpful, especially Karen who gave us advice about places to visit nearby (although no doubt any of the staff would have been equally as helpful if we'd asked). All-in-all we had a fabulous stay and are already making plans for a return visit next year.

Room Tip: River view rooms every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for writing such a lovely review on Tripadvisor about the Waterford Marina Hotel, I am delighted to have been able to meet you and your friends during your second trip to Waterford and we look forward to your next trip.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to ensure allocation of a lovely riverview room.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent the weekend in Waterford and stayed at the Marina hotel. The suite we had was enormous, 2 couches and enough floor space for a small disco. The only issue was an annoying 'clicking' noise from the radiators that no amount of adjustment could eliminate. The first night we ate in the hotel itself, the set menu is good value but we decided to eat off the a la carte menu. My chowder was very tasty, but Marys tartlet was served cool and would have benefitted from being warmer. We both had fish and had no complaints. Wine was just fine. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. All in all a very good value stay and well worth your consideration.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am delighted you enjoyed your break away in Waterford City with us and your lovely comments about our food, service and staff are very much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit in the very near future.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here, as the rooms were great, and the view enough to make you sit forever and look out over that river. (Bring a camera for that view- well worth it!). Staff was great, rooms were clean and the breakfast buffet very tasty. The bathroom was huge with a great big lovely tub. I was here with a Trafalgar tour, and the staff treated us very well. I know it can be hard when a full tour bus shows up, but the staff members here were calm and confident. I will definitely come back. The only improvement could be FAST free wifi in the rooms. I needed to do banking when there, and just could not get through.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out over the river, not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you so much for writing a lovely review for the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, it really means a lot especially as you live in California - although I have never visited it looks beautiful. Meeting with the guests who travel with Trafalgar Tours is a delight, we love telling them about Waterford City and County and they in turn tell us their stories. I have noted the issue with the WIFI and will investigate it.
We look forward to meeting you and your family again in the future, meanwhile have a look at the Gathering 2013 website which is a series of festivals and events happening throughout Ireland next year and it may help you with a travel plan.
In the meantime enjoy the festive season ahead.
Kind regard
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#1 of 13 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 13 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dooley's Hotel
Dooley's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel
Waterford Castle Hotel
#2 of 13 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#9 of 13 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 stars 972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Athenaeum House Hotel
Athenaeum House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterford Marina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.