We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely all round” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterford Marina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Waterford Marina Hotel to your Saves list
Waterford Marina Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“lovely all round”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great location. Nice clean room. Secure parking. Lovely food and attentive staff! Would definitely recommend this hotel. Will be staying again. Only down side was that the bathroom could have been doing with an upgrade.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you so much for writing a lovely review about the Waterford Marina Hotel after your recent visit to Waterford City. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you mentioned our great location, nice clean rooms, secure car parking, lovely food and attentive staff. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to all departments and I welcome to opportunity to introduce myself to you on your return in the very near future.
In the meantime have a look at the website for information on The Gathering 2013 which is being held nationwide next year and promises to have festivals and events to suit every visitor.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    277
    91
    24
    6
See reviews for
118
312
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trim, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

An excellent Hotel. Well situated for ALL routes. from the time of our arrival we were treated with great courtesy. the staff are the friendliest that we have encountered this year so far.

The accommodation was very good, clean and well serviced. The Restaurant food was excellent, served by very helpful , efficient and friendly staff. The views from the restaurant of the river was brilliant and made the meal a very peaceful experience.

A must of a Hotel for anyone staying in Waterford City.

Room Tip: a higher number gives excellent views of the river and environs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review about the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I really appreciate the detailed account that you have given about your stay with us and am delighted that you have recomended us and Waterford City to future visitors. I have passed on your compliments to all my departments and they are happy you enjoyed your break away with us.
I look forward to meeting you again in the near future on a return visit.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is situated in a very central location within walking distance of the town central. Fabulous park across the road for children to play in. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and immaculate clean. Great value for money!! Would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review the Waterford Marina Hotel for Tripadvisor readers. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and I appreciate your lovely comments about the staff, the rooms and the great value. It is great to read that you will definitely return to us again and please do not hesitate to contact me or any of my reception team to ensure you have the same room on your return.
We look forward to meeting you and your family again in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Karen and all the Staff
Waterford Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel, which, unfortunately was a Saturday night, so it was very noisy both in the bar and during the night. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable. I guess because we booked late, we got a room that had aircon/fan noise outside so couldn't have the window open. It had a bathroom for someone with a disability but was clearly inappropriate for someone with a disability.

Room Tip: Our room had aircon/fan noise & supposedly a 'disabled' bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor after your recent holiday in Ireland. I am delighted to read that the bedroom was comfortable and that the staff were friendly and helpful to you during your time with us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy all aspects of your visit and I would be grateful if you would give us the opportunity to look after you again at some time in the future to enjoy our lovely riverview rooms. Next year The Gathering 2013 is taking place in Ireland, this is a series of events and festivals to celebrate Irish culture, history and genealogy and it would be an ideal time to welcome you back for a return visit.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Myself and 2 friends booked into the Marina on a room only basis, the room had a double and 2 single beds and was very spacious and spotlessly clean, it's in a good location and the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you Ciara for taking the time to write a review about the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am glad that you and your friends enjoyed your break away with us and that the staff looked after you all. We are a very short distance from Dublin and would be delighted to meet you all again in the near future.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed one night while traveling around Ireland. We asked for a water view. Boy did they not disappoint. Our room had a full 180 view of the water. One of the largest rooms we have ever stayed in. There was plenty of parking. The hotel is within walking distance to the city center. I did have to laugh at the old tube TV but overall it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay in the Waterford Marina Hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed the views from our corner bedroom, they do indeed give a fantastic view of the River Suir and all its activity. Just to let you know that The Gathering Ireland 2013 is on throughout next year and this is a series of events and festivals to celebrate Irish culture, history and genealogy, I would be delighted to welcome you back at anytime in the future for a visit to Waterford City and we will allocate you the same corner room.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed one night while travelling around Ireland. Easy to find & central to most sights. I have reduced mobility & they were able to provide a disabled bathroom, which was great. Place clean but maybe in need of an update. Room was non smoking but reeked of smoke. Bed small. Dinner & breakfast good overlooking the river. Free parking on site.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your trip to Ireland to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor. It is good to read that we were easy to find and central to the local sights and you enjoyed our dinner and breakfast in the Waterfront Bar & Restaurant overlooking the River Suir.
We are lucky to have such a great location in the City with our own carpark.
I hope you had an enjoyable trip around Ireland and a safe trip home to Canberra. I would like to tell you that next year we have The Gathering Ireland 2013 which is a series of events and festivals to celebrate Irish culture, history and genealogy and we would be delighted to welcome you back for a return visit to enjoy the celebrations.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterford Marina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.