We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Planet Spice

Planet Spice
16 Marchent Quay, Waterford Waterford, Ireland
051858040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 125 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Scenic view, Doing business
Dining options: Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Planet spice restaurant is only organic feature indian restaurant in warerford city cooked bybaward winning chef
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Planet spice is a great Bangladeshi restaurant in Waterford .. We are regulars there for over 2 years now, the menu has a great variety of dishes to choose from, if your not sure what to go for the staff are always happy to advise.. The staff are very friendly and can t do enough for you.... Food is delicious , with good portions and well priced..and if you like a glass of wine there is no need to go past the house wine.. It is very good.
Only negative comment I would make about planet spice is their coffee, all I can say is skip the coffee... Not good!

Kimm and Margaret Phelan.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    12
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Checked out Planet Spice on tripadvisor and we were really looking forward to it but were a bit disappointed.We went for the early bird which was good value,€13.90 p.p for starter,main course and rice.

Our starters were small,Tandoori prawns was just 2 prawns,my chicken starter was average.Main courses consisted a few large pieces of chicken in sauce that we have probably had better from a jar,some fresh ingredients like veg etc would have really helped the sauce.

It is a nice restaurant from the outside and definitely has potential,maybe we visited on a bad day or were expecting too much.Or maybe the meals differ from earlybird to regular service but we've had better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“A great Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you are looking for an Indian Restaurant which has it's own identity, Planet Spice is great. A menu which has items only to be found in this restaurant, its a great place for eat in or take out.
Staff are very friendly and the food is delicious. Waterford already has 2 Indian Restaurants of note, one of which I have already reviewed. Planet spice is a place I will be returning to however the atmosphere could be enhanced as decor is quite basic but cosy,

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Superb Fresh Curries.. 5 stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I've been a regular customer here for nearly 2 years now. Every-time I eat here I'm never disappointed. The food is not only reasonable in price but delicious. You know straight away that the curries are made from the freshest ingredients you can really taste the meat, veg and spices.If you want it hot the excellent staff will duly oblige. They even have the famous 'Phall' on the menu!!! This place is on par with Cafe Gao in my opinion but doesn't have Gao's prices. 5 stars from me.. Added bonus is they have a bottle of PINOR NOIR for €16.50 when I was there last.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great food!! Quite small though. Offer great takeaway service too and give you extra side dishes! :-) very pleasant staff

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet Spice also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Planet Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planet Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.