We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fillet steak...drool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McLeary's

McLeary's
High Street, Waterford, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 125 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
County Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fillet steak...drool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Myself and OH visited in January for a birthday dinner. The fillet steak was to die for! The service was amazing. We haven't managed to get back in there yet, but it's on the to do list. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    47
    26
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Want a great dish? Eat their fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

McCleary's was recommended by our host at Hazelbrook B&B. We are very glad that we listened. I had a salmon and dill fishcake as an appetizer and the pork medallions as a main dish. My boyfriend had the cod and monkfish scampi. We both loved our food and thoroughly enjoyed the house reds that we had. Service was good, restaurant was getting busier as we left (around 1800).

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry, ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“All I have to say is seafood pancake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Love this restaurant, I cannot fault the staff or the food. And it is so reasonable! You can have their seafod pancake and homemade chips at lunch time for about 10 euro.sure you cant go wrong.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton NJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Food well prepared, prices reasonable. Tight seating but friendly service. No reservations required.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holywood
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Found by accident”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We where out and about last night in Waterford and we had spent 20 mins looking for a place to have dinner. Everywhere booked out as a festival was taking place in the city. Found McClearys by chance. Waiter got us a table 10 min wait. Food was delicious seafood chowder seafood pannini delightful.mains where very very tasty steaks cooked to perfection. Staff polite and called everyone good evening lads. Food brill price brill will be back

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McLeary's also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to McLeary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McLeary's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.