We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honest food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Becketts Bar & Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Becketts Bar & Restaurant
Knockboy Cross, Dunmore Road, Waterford, Ireland
051 873082
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 118 Restaurants in Waterford
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“honest food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

nothing to dislike. food is good quality although a limited menu.
staff very helpful, v good pint .
Clean, friendly and a good atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good but pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

varied menu,international and seafood.very expensive for steak(sirloin!!)nice setting.restaurant prices for barfood setting.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food and service as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Another wonderful meal in Becketts! Have been going with my family and friends over 5 years now and we have always found food, staff and general atmosphere of the place top notch. Only problem for us is trying to decide what to order ! Felt compelled to finally review after a function i attended there recently.
Being a picky couple (and one with special dietary requirements) we find both staff and chefs go above and beyond to ensure we have a great meal every time. Was very surprised to see a negative comment about the staff in another review. Maybe it's them that has the problem ...! All in all great food and free parking!



Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistently delish and service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Absolutely love Becketts, we tend to go there a lot with groups of friends and the food and staff are always so lovely. Adore the duck salad - a must try. I have never had a bad experience with the staff; the waitresses are always really friendly and helpful. Great menu choice and food never disappoints.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Let down overall”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have always heard great things about Becketts but had a rather disappointing experience myself when we went there, the waitress was a little rude, not the girl who greeted us who was very nice, rather our server who I could have swore sighed at me at one stage when I asked for a second drink.

Overall the food was alright, nothing special but good bar food, the only issue I had was the price, I felt I was certainly overpaying for what I got and would be put off returning due to a combination of this and the waitress' attitude, in the service industry it really is important to have staff who can at least fake like they are pleasant and polite to customers!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Becketts Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Becketts Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Becketts Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.