We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for cocktails & food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Revolution Gastro Bar

Revolution Gastro Bar
19 John Street, Waterford, Ireland
051 844444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 125 Restaurants in Waterford
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place for cocktails & food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I attended my sisters hen party here last weekend, we booked this place for a cocktail making course, it was brilliant, Charlie the barman is excellent at making the cocktails it was really enjoyable, I cant remember the managers name who MC'd the cocktail making course but he was brilliant, very funny. We had soup and a sandwich when we arrived which was lovely and then returned in the evening for a bite to eat which was included in the price the food was fab. The place itself is fab, very modern, you know a lot of effort has gone in to thsi place, I would highly recommend it to anybody heading down to Waterford, the niteclub is great. You defo have to do the cocktail making course its great craic. Also when we finished they let us have cocktails for €5 down in the main bar (only certain ones) but it was brilliant, will defo go again to this place.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimwaterford, Manager at Revolution Gastro Bar, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
hey Ruby - gald u have a great weekend in Waterford - btw - my name is Flash - but i know why you remembered Charlies Name - lol - post some hen night pics on our facebook for me >? talk soon
love Flash & Charlie (Award winning mixologist)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hate the Food but Love the Cocktails”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I think the food is quite greasy, I think if you are drinking here and need something to line your stomach go for it, but I personally can't stomach the food. The sandwiches are fine however and as stated in the title the cocktails are very very nice, but overpriced. The cheaper the cocktail the less alcohol thats in it, so I feel abit hard done by when I drink here. But I suppose you get what you pay for and the cocktails and unusual shots are worth a visit even if you dont eat.
I will visit here again but it wont be for the food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great grub, but it's the beer that makes 'em shine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I go to Revolution for Viking Re-enactment meetings. Sometimes if there's a special occasion they'll do food for the group. They even try to serve authentic style right down to sourcing bread recipes.
But it's the beer that makes 'em shine.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Casual dining.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Great food, good service, nice warm friendly atmosphere.

Not too pricey really like, things range from €5 to €25 sooo it's pretty reasonable.
The cocktails are amazing!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Great bar to go to for food or for a good night out! Staff are very friendly. Great selection of drinks and food is amazing! Great special offers on food also. Love the wine and cocktails! :-) very clean pub with modern comfy furnishings would recommend it to anyone young or old!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Revolution Gastro Bar also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Revolution Gastro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Revolution Gastro Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.