We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Goa

Cafe Goa
36 The Guay, Waterford, Ireland
+353 (0)51-304970
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 118 Restaurants in Waterford
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We've eaten in this restaurant a number of times now as its the best indian cuisine in Waterford. The menu is wide and varied with plenty for all tastes. If in doubt they are good at recommendations too! Take away what you don't finish or just order take away, its as good as the sit down experience :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    46
    15
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Overrated - That is the word that comes to mind when I think of our dining experience in Cafe Goa.

My Girlfriend and I went here for lunch, the lunch menu was lacking choice but was very reasonably priced. The waiter seemed slightly disinterested.

To be fair the starters went down well. The mains were a different story. Firstly the portion sizes were minuscule. My Tikka Masala was bland, it lacked seasoning and was served lukewarm. My partners Dopiaza faired a little better, the flavor was OK. Unfortunately, twenty minutes after she ate it she was left with an upset stomach.

They also charge €2.50 for soft drinks that they pour from big bottles - I wouldn't mind this but the drinks were flat!

Cafe Goa will never get a second chance from us, Planet Spice and Eastenders Indian restaurants on the same road are far better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungarvan, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Busy, bustling & beautiful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great find on the quay in waterford. We had to wait for a table but worth it. We had 2 starters, 2 mains, bottle pino grigio, bottle beer, total just over 70 euro, average I would say. Tasty food, very friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Wonderful Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

While shopping in Kilkenny one of the storekeepers suggested that since we were going to Waterford we should eat at Cafe Goa for really good Indian food. We did follow up and visited Cafe Goa upon our arrival in Waterford. We had lunch there and it was some of the best and authentic Indian food we've eaten. (and we've eaten Indian food in many places around the world). It is a relatively small, innocuous restaurant. We were served dips upon arrival and warmly greeted by our server who suggested that we order the two-course meal for 11 Euros instead of ordering a la carte for more money. The meals were delicious and filling. We were going to return the next day but couldn't make our travel itinerary work. This is an Indian Restaurant worth the return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Best Indian I've tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have eaten both in the restaurant and ordered take away in Cafe Goa many times over the past number of years. It has always lived up to our expectations - tasty food, unlike any other Indian restaurant I've ate in (and I've actually been to India!). I've tried many items on the menu so it's hard to recommend a particular dish but the house goa curry would be a good place to begin. The staff/owner is very friendly and always makes it a point to say hello or shake you hand. There are a number of Indian restaurants around Waterford but make this your first stop.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Goa also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Cafe Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.