We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typically French” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Atmosphere

L'Atmosphere
Henrieta Street, Waterford, Ireland
051) 858426
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 125 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
1,366 helpful votes 1,366 helpful votes
“Typically French”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Typically French... I have spent more than a little of my time in France, a country which I have to say I like, one day I will work out French people and their very strange attitude, but ho-hey, that's almost another story, except that this restaurant is so typically French, even with slightly surly inattentive waiting staff!
The food was however wonderful, we cannot recommend highly enough the Boeuf Bourgignon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    67
    12
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A super little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great place, super food( authentic French) cosy ( slightly cramped ) great service. It's not posh but a real hidden gem

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have been in this restaurant few years ago, and honestly it was not good and overpriced.
I decide to give it a second chance last week and it was a blessing idea.
Everything was perfect, and I was there 4 times.
The service was great, and the staff was really good, prepared and helpfully.
The food was amazing, in the 4 dinner I had fish, meat, the house taste starter, few different desserts, and I think that everything was fantastic!!!
The price is really good, they have a 3 course menu for 20 euros, that is great, I also had the 35 euros menu that was fantastic, so, you can also have a great dinner for a little price!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A genuine taste of France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

SUPERBE!

We are Francophiles on holiday in Ireland... and we never expected this.

My husband had the Foie Gras starter.. not pate... the liver cooked beautifully to melt in the mouth. I had the tasting plate starter... be hungry!

Tariflette... the best I have had outside the Jura. A bottle of AOP Lirac that took us back to our holiday just 10km away only a month ago.

Three courses and drinks for €113 - a bargain!

Please could this restaurant move to Kent. It wouldn't be good for our waistlines or our bank balance, but who cares!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Little piece of France in the South-East of Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Waterford City is blessed with having great restaurants and in my opinion L'atmosphere is right up there with the best of them.
We went there on a Friday evening and the place was packed with a good buzz about the restaurant. I had the snails to start which were plentiful (12) and delicious in a garlic butter and pesto sauce. my partner had the pigeon which was excellent but maybe a fraction over done. We then shared a 32 oz rib-eye steak, We asked for it rare and got it rare, it came with seasonal vegetables that were cooked in the serving pot it tasted fantastic. We shared a chocolate desert which was the business all washed down with a bottle of french red wine that was recommended by the excellent staff.
All in all a fantastic meal where I will return and you should too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Atmosphere also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to L'Atmosphere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Atmosphere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.