We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine if hungry on the Limerick road” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Matt The Thresher

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Matt The Thresher
Birdhill, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #158 of 184 Restaurants in County Tipperary
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fine if hungry on the Limerick road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Matt the Thresher has been an adequate stop-off for average food when on the road to/from Limerick for years. You can go in and get a reasonably priced, average-tasting burger and chips or open sandwich, but while the young waitresses were pleasant and helpful, don't expect much charm from the owner, who practically ordered rather than invited us where to sit (when the place was virtually empty). It's fine if you're hungry, but I certainly wouldn't go out of my way to eat there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    12
    7
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just as I remembered.............”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Whist travelling recently to Killarney we needed some food & I recalled a pub I used to visit some years back in Birdhill. Sure enough it was still there. The waitress was very attentive and provided menus promptly. We made our selections & had a pint while waiting. The Guinness was good,& the food arrived quickly. I had the Irish stew, the wife had a fish dish. There was plenty of wholesome food on the plate & we followed with two desserts & coffee to finish. All in all, it was just as I had remembered it. Good food, good drink & a nice atmosphere all round. Reasonably priced & hit the spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Bucking The Trend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The reviews on Tripadvisor don't seem to have been terribly positive! Maybe I missed something then on our visit. We dropped in late afternoon and I do admit I was a little apprehensive as the man who greeted and seated us had little charm or personality. However, the waitress who dealt with us from then on was very pleasant and indeed all those serving that I witnessed seemed friendly and efficient. I had an open sandwich with crab meat whilst my companion had some chips and a toasted sandwich - not exactly haute cuisine, but you have to get even the simplest things right. We had no complaints, the crab meat was well seasoned and plentiful and the chips were perfect. We then shared a delicious and apple filled tart with cream. No complaints.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Went for lunch with two friends. One lady only had an open sandwich - two small pieces of stale/hard soda bread. The others had fish - one was ok and the other fish was not cooked. The "manager" was a very unpleasant man - no personality whatsoever. In the hospitality business one has to have the right personality. I would not ever go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Not as good as I had expected.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Dropped by recently and was surprised at the prices for a pub. Not so busy - but the food we were served was very good. The waitress had very little English but was pleasant. Wouldn't be in a rush back - as did not feel it was value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matt The Thresher also viewed

Tipperary, County Tipperary
Ballina, County Tipperary
 
County Limerick, Province of Munster
 

Been to Matt The Thresher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matt The Thresher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.