We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Embassy Steakhouse

The Embassy Steakhouse
John F. Kennedy Parade, Sligo, Ireland
071 9161250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 79 Restaurants in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A friend recommended the early bird menu in the embassy to me. It's mon-fri 5.30 to 7.30 for threes course meal including tea or coffee for €20. We both had the homemade soup, I thought it was a bit watery. There was a choice of homemade soup, stuffed mushrooms with garlic mayonnaise and crispy chicken strips. For main course there was roast joint of the day, the classic beef burger, breast of chicken in Parma ham, blackened Cajun chicken, fillet of salmon, pan-fried fillet of hake and veneto style fusseli. We both had the hake, it was lovely. For dessert there was crumble pie of the night, homemade apple pie and chefs homemade special. We both had the chefs homemade special which was chocolate cake with ice-cream and cream. It was good value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    24
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It's is a very comfortable restaurant with dark wood panelling and big tables well spaced. We were pleased to have a radiator next to us as it was bitter cold outside. Reasonable menu choice and good sized portions. Food average to good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Brill eve was well looked after brilliant service by all staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Brill service by all the staff food was lovely and the complimentary chocs fr Mother's Day which was an extra treat

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Unreal! Amazing! Brilliant food and service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was staying in Sligo for valentines day and had no idea where to go for a nice mean to celebrate valentines day and it was just by chance me and my boyfriend stumbled across the embassy and as soon as we walked in we were greeted by friendly an helpful staff! Place had a lovely atmosphere and setting! We were sat down to a lovely layed out table with homemade bread an wheaten bread before we even ordered any food! I had a filet steak an it was the best i have ever tasted! I was that full from it I couldn't manage dessert! Steak cooked to just how I like it an as well the lovely bar lady gave me and my boyfriend and other customers a free class of Moët champagne with a strawberry! It just made my valentines night that little bit more special! I will defiantly be back!!! The place is amazing and the food yummy!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch with Family a Huge Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We decided to go to "The Embassy Wine Bar & Grill" for Sunday lunch as we were meeting up with family in Sligo. We had also read positive reviews on TripAdvisor. However, we ended up having a not-so-positive experience, both in terms of food as well as service.
When we arrived, we were shown to our table and given the menu, which consisted of a set of choices for starter, main course, and dessert. All for €19.50. This seemed like good value. We ordered chowder and chicken wrap for starters. For main course we had beef and one person had salmon. And for dessert some had apple pie, one had Christmas pudding, and one had strawberry mousse.
The chowders were totally over-salted, the chicken wrap was ready-made and not overly exciting. The beef was tough, far too much, and came with far too much gravy as well. The salmon was ok, but was also smothered in too much sauce. Another thing: all the main meals came with the potatoes and vegetables on the plate, not in a side dish. This meant the potatoes and veg were also smothered in gravy / sauce. The desserts turned out to be quite good, with the strawberry mousse being very tasty.
So much for the food.
The service left a lot to be desired. From the minute we took our seats, we found the waitress who served us to be cold and unfriendly. She demanded that we order the dessert along with the order for the starter and main course. This is not usually done in good restaurants. She also plonked (literally) the cups for tea and coffee on the table even before we had dessert. When the tea and coffee was ready, she also plonked the two pots of tea and coffee on the table. Each time with a loud noise. It seemed like she really didn't feel like working that day. That's the impression all of us got.
When we asked her to wait with the tea and coffee, she still brought the pots and wouldn't wait until we felt ready for it.
The worst was yet to come: Two ladies at the table went to the Ladies' Toilet after the meal, only to find that the only toilet in the Ladies' room was full to the brim from the previous person, unflushed, and blocked !!!! It was truly revolting. The two ladies returned to the table without having relieved themselves. One gent at the table proceeded to complain to a waitress, who then just laughed about the whole problem of the "dirty toilet" with a waiter at the bar. Imagine to witness the staff laughing about something you complained about !!!! After 5 minutes, another waitress came down and said the ladies at the table could use the Ladies' Toilet in the hotel upstairs.
All in all, this was a most disappointing experience. We will definitely not return to The Embassy for a meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Embassy Steakhouse also viewed

Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to The Embassy Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Embassy Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.