We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Glasshouse to your Saves list
The Glasshouse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

I stayed in this hote for one night recently. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I asked for a quiet room as some reviews indicated that sound was a problem. We got a fantastic room with a wonderful view. At E80 a room I would consider this excellent value for two people and would highly recommend it. The self service full Irish beakfast was lovely. The only small complaint I have is that the bedroom carpet was in need of a good hover.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    294
    167
    62
    50
See reviews for
83
461
35
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Modern, fancy place. Spectacular view if you get the right room. I booked into a room and it was too hot and the air did not work. I called reception and someone came and told me that a standard room did not have a/c and they had no deluxe rooms left. Then I was told they could find me a deluxe for 20 euro per night extra. I thought it quite ridiculous to pay for a/c in a fancy hotel as it is usually included, and says so on the website. Anyway, the duty manager Gavin kept working on it and found a deluxe and waived the extra, if I could wait an hour or so until the room was ready. I sat in the lounge and had a lovely cup of tea with biscuits. They are very busy, but the service is good if you find the right person, and I found most of the staff to be friendly. The rooms are large and well appointed. There is no gym or pool or anything, but the restaurant and bar looked inviting, and a breakfast buffet is served. The location is fabulous and, provided you get deluxe or more, I would recommend. Room 515 was so wonderful I did not want to leave it.
Sligo town is small, but bigger than a village. There is shopping, many pubs (of course) and restaurants and some historical buildings. A good place to visit if you are into Yeats, or megalithic tombs. Other than that, there are nicer places to stay. Note that almost nothing is open on Sunday.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, Co. Armagh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

I stayed her ewith my husband n a 1 night getaway to Sligo. Delighted with the location of the hotel as it was in town centre and shops, restaurants and pubs were easily accessible. The hotel itself is modern retro in style. The room was a good size with a balcony overlooking the river. The hotel ws a little shabby and carpets could definetely do with a clean. Good selection of breakfast items however i felt at 140 euro a night it was a little steep for what we got. Because the hotel is situated in the town centre, i would imagine it is chosen by those who like to party! We were woken at 4am by a very loud drunk man who could not find his room!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Stayed in Sept 2010 for 3 nights, got a great price. Location is great in centre of town, a bit tricky at first to find entry to underground car park. Staff were very friendly, helpful and professonal. Food in restaurant was ok, nothing special. Same at breakfast, it was standard buffet with plenty of choice. Did not like the bar food and thought the quality was poor. Bedrooms nice & spacious & clean. The reception area is small and not well organised for viewing literature on the town, surrounding area. Overall it is a good centrally located hotel, friendly helpful staff with an ok restaurant. Shopping in the town is good. Some very good restaurants & pubs & cafes in town which should be explored. We were there for Arthurs Day & all the pubshad either entertainment/free food/reduced guinness, but hotel did not have anything on. Lacks a bit of imagination. Decor & colour scheme very bright.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia, melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Great hotel in a fantastic location.
We arrived to warm and friendly staff which is always a good sign. Our room came with free cable internet, and had a view over the river.
There were a few stains on the carpet, but nothing to ruin the experience. The room felt and looked clean.
We ate at the restaurant one night and the good was so good, and the staff were very helpful without being invasive.
Hotel is right near all the shops and it was great to wake up and walk to a nice cafe, or just stroll the street.
The carparking was also handy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

We found a great bed & breakfast deal online, so it was very reasonable to stay at the Glasshouse. The location is right in town, just off the main street.
There is free wired internet (and non-free wireless internet). But the wired internet worked just fine.
The hotel is very modern looking. The room was large, and the bathroom was modern, with a full shower/bath.
Parking is underground and free.
Breakfast was a buffet, and very filling.
There were many swans in the river behind the hotel -- hence the hotel's address.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We arrived at the hotel late in the friday afternoon and although reception was busy the girls there were very friendly and welcomed us to sligo , we were given a lovely room over looking the river which was huge and had a decent sized bathroom.
we ate in the restaurant the first night of our stay only and found the food to be very nice although the portions i thought were small, also many of the sweets seemed to be bought in, i thought a four star hotel would have made their own. the service in the restaurant was excellent and sarah our waitress was wonderfull. the service in the bar too was very good and special thanks to adrain and gavin (manager) for puting up with us. we realy enjoyed our trip to sligo the hotel is only three minutes from loads of great shops the cinema and a fantastic night club called the velvet rooms.
Finally thanks a million to frances the night porter who does a fantastic job and who did everything for us but tuck us in and read us a bedtime story.
we loved sligo and the glasshouse well done

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glasshouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.