We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too sure if it is 4 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Sligo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Sligo to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Sligo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not too sure if it is 4 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in the hotel for two nights. It was first time we have been to Sligo - arrived to the hotel and a lovely Irish lady checked us in (I think her name was Cara not too sure) - we got our keys and went to the room. And it is not what we expected - so we went back and asked to change the room. The Irish lady was trying to look after us but it looked like she was new so she asked for advise from foreign lady named Monika. She came to the desk did not say hello or anything else and all she said we do not have any other rooms. So rude!! Finally we got new room keys and what a difference!! Room nicely decorated, sitting room was huge (enough space for our two years old to run and play) and bedroom was perfect.
In the evening we went to the restaurant for a meal. We had main course & a glass of wine each, our baby had mash & soup atmosphere was lovely and we were looked after - the only fault the staff who was serving us never offered us a set 3 course meal. As we paid almost €50 for two mains, wine and baby's food and when we left the restaurant I've seen on display a special offer for three course I think it was €28 per person - so I would of pay €56 for three course meal... well its smth management needs to look into.
We stayed on Saturday&Sunday and there was not much to do for children - they have a lovely play room but it wasnt in use?
After all this hotel would not be on my list if I would need to return to Sligo. I am working myself in hotel industry for the last 10 years and this hotel did not meet my expectations

Room Tip: Newly decorated and refurbished bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    165
    98
    40
    28
See reviews for
163
141
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked one night , last minute, in order to go shopping in Sligo. The cost (£70 for 2 b&b) was very good value for money. The facade is very impressive and includes 2 chapels where civil ceremonies can be celebrated. The hotel was formerly a 'lunatic asylum' but don't let that put you off, everyone seemed sane... The hotel has good leisure facilities. The breakfast was buffet style with a good selection.The bedroom was big and well appointed. The hotel seems to have many family suites and 'apartments.' It has a restaurant and bar and does a range of food from light snacks to more formal meals. We had a light snack which was fine, we were served by very pleasant wait staff. All in all would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't think there are any 'bad' rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a night - two adults and one child on a grabone deal - €65 for the night with breakfast which is excellent value. Lovely building (was an asylum at one time) and close to Sligo town. We had a very spacious room - a double and two singles - very clean and comfortable, good shower too. Only issues were no coffee/tea in the room which I would expect - did spot a machine in reception later but by then it was too late and a toilet that did not flush very well. We ate in the restaurant - good but not spectacular food, although service was excellent. We paid €75.90 for two adult mains and desserts plus a glass of wine and a beer, my daughter had kids goujons and chips (4.50 - good value) with coke. Finished with baileys coffee and Irish coffee - considering the alcohol consumed and the standard of food that was not bad.

We did not use leisure facilities although they seem quite good. The bar is quite big and we had a few drinks - live music was fine and bar staff friendly as were all staff in hotel. Breakfast was buffet style - very good quality and plenty of choice - usual cooked breakfast items, rolls, croissants, cereals, juices, breads etc. (brown bread especially tasty).

Overall a good place to stay in Sligo, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Liverzeb
Thank you for your review and I appreciate all your feedback. We hope to see you again.
Best Regards

Sheila
Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardee, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hotel, average food, (too many supplements), lovely staff, clean rooms, sum up, ok no big waa ! factor, can't say much more except we felt it a bit like a institute . entrance needs somthing warming

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lara1215,
Thank you for your review and your comments on staff and accommodation. It is unfortunate the decor in areas was not to your liking as we are continiousley upgrading the hotel.
Best Regards

Sheila
Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry city
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing place to stay with the extended family and do some Christmas shopping. This is the second year we have chosen to stay here for Christmas shopping, so close to town center and local cinema. Always able find a parking space, the pool is brilliant for kids and adults I loved the hot tub at the end of the day. The staff where great in the pool area as where all the staff we meet during our stay especially in the Kudos Bar where we had a birthday party for one of the kids. Apartment style rooms are just what is need for family's we had plenty of space to hire out the sleep over tent in the living area. would recommend it to any one with a family we booked two rooms and both where great to spend a weekend or even longer in. we didn't get to use the games room as we had to much to do, maybe next time.

Room Tip: We requested room near lift as we had a disabled member in the group this was provide for both rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear TootsDerryCity,
Thank you for your review and feedback on the service and facilities. We hope to see you for the shopping again next year.

Best Regards
Sheila

Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My lovely friends came to visit from the uk and i desided to book in Sligo town so we would be close to all the sites. I must admit i was pleasantly suprised. I booked a family room which was brilliant, you have so much space and comfort. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, very clean, warm and even though the hotel was very busy, it was lovely and quite. Most of the staff were welcoming, pleasant and accomodating. We had a wonderful stay and most definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Joan B,
I am delighted your friends enjoyed their visit to sligo and in any way we helped in this. We hope to see you again.
Best Regards
Sheila

Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the clarion hotel for a family funeral in sligo and we're so glad we did! The staff were exceptional from the receptionists to the leisure centre attendants to the girls cleaning the rooms everyone had a smile for us and were so pleasant. the hotel has a lovely relaxed and modern feel. we stayed in a suite which we didn't book but it was a fantastic and welcome surprise after travelling 4 hrs from tipp! it was great as our little 2 yr old had loads of space to play and when he went to bed we could chill out in the living area with the listener on! All in all we would have no hesitation in staying at the clarion hotel again in the near future.well done to all the staff keep up the great work!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Tina W,
Please accept our condolences on your loss. I am glad that at this sad time that we could make your stay comfortable. We hope to see you again under different circumstances.
Best Regards
Sheila

Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sligo

Address: Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Sligo
Sligo Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Sligo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.