We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family rooms are massive ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Sligo

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Sligo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Sligo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Sligo
SYDNEY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Family rooms are massive ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When travelling with three young kids accommodation is usually a problem in Europe. This hotel has huge family rooms. Loads of space plus a good gym and swimming pool. I am only giving it 4 stars as there is no satellite tv or DVD player. If you are a family though and like some space then this is great.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    148
    90
    40
    28
See reviews for
151
130
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The grounds and the hotel itself are absolutely beautiful. We felt like celebrities in the fabulous suite. A great choice of breakfast foods and the first hotel I have stayed in where the food is covered over with platters - I thought this was excellent and very hygienic.

The staff were very friendly and helpful especially the Beautician who kindly fitted my friend and I in at very short notice on Monday morning (19 May 2014) to have a facial which was the perfect end to the perfect weekend. Just booked to stay in the hotel this coming Tues 23 Sep 2014. Can't wait to show my mum this fabulous hotel. She'll love it

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite which was amazing. If you are a family or have young children it's well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We visit The Clarion a few times every year & have never been disappointed. Have just returned from our most recent visit & have already booked our next one there. Staff are welcoming, helpful & friendly. Breakfast is buffet style with good variety & healthy options. Our special dietary requirements were well catered for. Our upgrade to a suite was appreciated. Thank you

Room Tip: Rooms are bright, airy & spacious. An upgrade to a suite is often an option
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is an impressive building . Our room was large and even though it was at the rear of the hotel it had brilliant views towards Rosses Point and of Ben Bulben mountain.

Staff were always very helpful and could not do enough for you. We stayed two nights bed and breakfast and made full use of the leisure centre. We left well rested and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

It was the best hotel ive ever stayed at an most diffenitly will be back.we had a fabulous time there from start to finish from check in to rooms to food the bar an staff then breakfast in the morning was first class with excellent service and staff

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The only downside for our stay in the Clarion was that the menu was not very good and because of this we decided to eat in Sligo town centre but the rooms where lovely and clean and the hotel was fantastic

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Shaun D,
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you didnt like the menu selection, If there was something specific you were looking for we would do our best to oblige.
Best Regards
Sheila

Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful stay, upgraded and tents for the children. Spacious rooms, great staff, bar area family friendly.

Play rooms for little ones closed very early, breakfast very busy but well coordinated by staff so never waiting too long

Fabulous building with interested history! Long way to room from reception but wouldn''t put me off

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Bridget M,
Thank you for your recommendation on our family facilities. We hope to see you back again.
Best Regards
Sheila

Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sligo

Address: Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Sligo
Sligo Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Sligo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.