We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Sligo

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Sligo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Sligo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Sligo
Belmont, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had an unexpected night's stay without a reservation so we looked online for nearby hotels. We called the Clarion and were able to find a very nice room. Recently remodeled with a large lobby, this is an excellent location and comfortable hotel with helpful staff. The price was surprisingly reasonable for such a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    121
    66
    35
    25
See reviews for
120
110
11
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked into this hotel for 3 nights and ended up staying an extra night. We made our booking directly with the hotel and the customer service agent was just super, provided lots of information & more importantly a good price.
The check in process was wonderfully smooth with a friendly and efficient customer service agent.
The room we were directed to however, did not suit our needs for the weekend and when I went back to reception, the receptionist had no problem in allocating another more suitable room.
The swimming pool was clean and lovely and warm (we were travelling/swimming with baby)
Breakfast was really good, there was plenty of fresh food bought out continuously, and impressively breakfast was served till 11am on weekends....fabulous.
We found all the staff at the Clarion Hotel Sligo extremely helpful and courteous; they seemed to enjoy their job, which is quiet refreshing!
The grounds of the hotel and the hotel building itself are very impressive. I have been quiet surprised to read any negative comments on the hotel, based on our experience we will definitely return to this hotel in the future. Well done Clarion, Sligo.

Room Tip: We booked a suite which was fabulous (on 2nd floor) as we could put the baby to bed and chill out in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is my top choice place to stay whenever I go to Sligo for business.. I think all of the rooms are suites (at least, all 3 times I have stayed there, that is what I have been given) - real suites --> with a bedroom, and a separate kitchen / living room. The kitchen has a refrigerator, microwave, dishes, silverware, etc.... The hotel also has a very nice fitness center and a reasonable restaurant / bar area. It has very nice spacious grounds - although that comes at the price of being further away from the center of town than most of the hotels - although still only about 1 mile. The breakfast is very good and most of the staff is nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

had lovely time in hotel family room was best ever I've been in with family.had separate room with small kitchen it was like an apartment.hotel is lovely looking hotel and ground's some big place some crack walking to room.bloke serving food in bar was brillent don't know his name it was on thur evening couldn't been nicer; younger food server not as good.pool is small but kid's had fun.you have to pay to use blown up bouncy castle thing that they blow up the odd time abit of a rip off.well worth a visit

Room Tip: if you have kids get bigger room with small kitchen in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This review is for Americans traveling through Ireland's gorgeous west coast..

This hotel is a remodeled insane asylum, you're sleeping in old inmates' rooms, and from the feel of it, their old beds. Our bed had the feel of a couch hide-a-bed, very uncomfortable. There was something hard, like a piece of plywood, under the mattress to about halfway down, and the bed was bowed so badly, that you just couldn't sleep on it..

We go to Ireland on a regular basis, my wife's company has an office in Cork. We've stayed almost exclusively at the Clarion in Cork, so we felt safe, choosing the Clarion in Sligo.

First impression wasn't good.. the front entry is up steps, and even though the check in kiosk is right by the door, no one offered to help with our luggage, as we struggled up the steps.. Actually, another guest helped my wife, but at no time, did anyone from the hotel offer to help with our luggage. Secondly, there are only a couple of floors on the facility, and the rooms are "out" instead of "up".. I mean, way way way out, too.. We went down long halls, through doors, down more long halls, through more doors, to our room..

There was no air conditioning, or fan, in room. I know, it's not usually hot enough to need AC there, but no matter how cool it is, it is always high humidity, and I like to control the climate of my hotel room.. Plus, we like the fan noise, to block out other noise.. the night we were there (April 2014) there was a high school prom, or something, going on, and there was quite abit of noise.

If you're elderly, taking a sight seeing trip in Ireland, please be aware of some of these things..

The shower is in a tub, with a very high, dangerous step in/step out.. The front entrance is up stairs, and no one helps you with your luggage.. and, your room will be a long, long way to walk, after you check in.

Breakfast was included in our stay, as it always is at Clarion Cork. The first or second time you have the Irish breakfast, with the 'bacon' and sausage, blood pudding, etc, it's kinda fun, but the breakfast here is only average. There are much better places to get a really good traditional Irish breakfast in Sligo, I promise.

I will give the Sligo Clarion the benefit of the doubt, and guess that the majority of their beds aren't as hideous as the one we got. However, my review can only be based on my experience. So, I can NOT recommend this hotel to friends, family, or countrymen, and NO, I would not stay here again myself.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and i went down to stay the weekend and we came home a day early.. the service at dinner was terrible! complained and the manager tried to turn it back to us. The beds were as hard as a table as were the pillows, rooms were far to warm. But the food overall was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Recently enjoyed a family gathering at The Clarion Hotel Sligo to celebrate our parents 40th Wedding Anniversary. The hotel was the perfect venue as it has two chapels on site for civil ceremonies and as our family was a relatively small gathering we were able to use the smaller of the two chapels which was very quaint and perfect for the occasion. Quite apart from it's palatial façade what makes this hotel truly fine in my opinion is its amazing staff, from the warmth and efficiency of its reception team to its pleasant and helpful waiting staff. I would also like to make special mention of Voytek who took charge of ensuring that all the arrangements for the day went smoothly and that our family (especially our parents) were so very well looked after! Also special mention to Stephen who received our party in the restaurant and for the beautiful table set-up and excellent service afforded to us. Thanks a million to all the staff at The Clarion Hotel - what a wonderful professional team you all are!

Room Tip: Family suites are spacious and extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sligo

Address: Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sligo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Sligo
Sligo Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Sligo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.