We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“october 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Sligo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Sligo to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Sligo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Ireland Corners, New York, United States
1 review
“october 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

it is a lovely hotel, food is good, staff are nice, good facilities for kids, great spa/pool area with very clean showers and changing area.it is easy to find and is a beautiful looking building from the outside.rooms are clean and comfy but a little hard to find.

Room Tip: ask for a nice view as the twice that i have stayed i did not have a good view, the most recent over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Annabel S,
Thank you for your review and recommendation. I hope you had an enjoyable & memorable visit to Ireland.
Best Regards
Sheila
Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    165
    97
    40
    28
See reviews for
162
141
11
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
keady
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

we stayed in a family room, which was very spacious for a family of 4, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to help. we only used the pool in the leisure facilities, which was very clean. The two restaurants were good, and child friendly, breakfast was good, tho not the hottest, due to people leaving the lids of the bainmaries.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Yummymummys,
Thank you for your review on our family facilities and your kind comments on staff and service. We hope to see you back again.
Best Regards
Sheila
Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a great hotel for families with young children. The swimming pool is great for them. The food in the restaurant bar was delicious and the staff are very friendly. My kids want to go back again next year for a longer stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Jenny C,
Thank you for your feedback and I am delighted your family and espically the little ones enjoyed the facilities.
Best Regards
Sheila
Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel for families with small children. They will love the pool and play room.
It is so comfortable and luxurious for relaxing breaks with friends.
The suites are so beautiful and have wonderful architectural features.
The building is stunning.
The location is fantastic for exploring Sligo by car.
When offers come up on deal sites, this hotel is a winner.
Going outside of peak season is quiet. The bar is relaxing but it is hard to ever leave the rooms.
Beds are comfortable and the decor is great.
All the rooms are quirky in shape based on their original use. Sometimes bathrooms can be as big as small bedrooms.
The foyer is nice and the chapels for Weddings look great.
Have returned to this hotel every year sinsce it opened as often as I can!

Room Tip: All of the suites are wonderful - some are exceptionally large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear CDoyle2013,
Thank you for your recommendation on the facilities and service and for your repeat business over the years. The rooms are spacious making them ideal of anyone and all the better if you can travel out of season to avail of the many deals we do. Looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Best Regards
Sheila
Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Restaurant for dinner & lunch left a little to be desired. Appeared that 1 waitress and 1 waiter was handling the entire room. Food was edible but could have been better. Caesar Salad Dressing out of a bottle is not acceptable at all and I was quite shocked as I had been to many restaurants prior to arriving at Clarion. The receptionists were absolutely wonderful, efficient, and informative. The rooms were clean and large. Breakfast was absolutely delicious but obviously not the same cook at lunch or dinner. However, we did not have or notice any device that would provide air conditioning so sleeping was a bit of a problem until very late at night when it cooled down. I would definitely return but eat lunch and dinner in town.

Room Tip: Check on A/C as they may have some rooms with and without as we did not have any device that would p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Isabella S,
Thank you for your feedback and glad to note the service, your room and breakfast were amazing. I apologise that your experience was not the same with lunch and dinner. The food is cooked freshly to order and we are happy to replace any dish you are not satisfied with. The rooms are large and spacious and at this time of year we would have the rooms well heated, however they can be controlled indivudally if you need the heat off. I am glad you are happy to return and I would encourage you to try the lunch and dinner again. We are confident in the quality of food and our chefs. We are currently updating menus as this is the time of year we would renew dishes.
Best Regards
Sheila
Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hotel and staff extremely family friendly. Easy to enjoy a break here with small children as they are catered for very well ie lots of high chairs room are large to take equipment needed for small ones. However food quality is only fair and childrens meals are limited to the chip based dinners. bar menu was tastier in our opinion however limited choices and no daily specials.or changes. This can be disappointing when you are eating there each night of your break.

we had a problem with our room and sked to be changed. The hotel staff were excellant and changed rooms for us without hassle they even helped us with our bags which made it less stressful esp with two small children in tow.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more airy. basement floor suites can be stuffy and not asthma friendly !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear H_MTrippers,
Thank you for your review and comments on the staff and family facilities. We are currently refreshing our menus and will be including the menus for the younger ones also.
Best Regards
Sheila
Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a part of a Heatons Hotel breaks offer! We got 3 nights b&b and an evening meal for the 5 of us for €200 total! Incredible value for money! We upgraded to a family suite at an extra cost of €25 per night.
We received a warm welcome for Rudite on checkin! Despite it been a paticularly busy time she was friendly and helpful.
we had a Beautiful large spacious room! It had a bedroom and seperate living area with kitchenette. This was a fantastic facility as we were travelling g with our newborn so we had the space we needed also. Kids club was fantastic,in room tents for kids to camp in, daily movies, arts and crafts, pool room, swimming activities during day, family table quiz, story telling with hot chocolate every evening!
The kids had an absolute ball!
Food was lovely and staff were more than helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back. Máire at checkout was also lovely and had plenty of time in ensuring we had a nice stay.
Overall it was a really super stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear SukiQ,
Thank you for your great review on our service, facilities and food. I am delighted the whole family had a ball and were well entertained at the kids club. The Tents in the rooms are a hugh sucess with parents as the kids can have fun and they love sleeping in them.
Best Regards
Sheila
Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sligo

Address: Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Sligo
Sligo Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Sligo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.