We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Sligo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Sligo to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Sligo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Omagh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We are just home from a 2 night stay at the Clarion. In general we thought the hotel was good. There was 3 adults and 8 very boisterous children (under the age of 11) in our party. We stayed in 3 interconnecting rooms with a little kitchen/living area included. The rooms we were in, were very very spacious and perfect for separating the boys and girls at the two opposite ends, so we could have some peace in the living area in between. There was a microwave/fridge etc which was really useful. The only issue we had is that we didn't have feather pillows, which may sound ridiculous, but did certainly affect my nights sleep. We asked at reception, but they did not have any. On arrival, a travel cot had kindly been set up for us.
We used the swimming pool area twice and were quite happy with it. There is a separate small pool around 18" deep which was perfect for some of our kids who couldn't swim. The first day we thought the pool was a little on the cool side, but on the second it was fine.
The slightly disappointing part for us was the food. We aren't terribly fussy, but thought the breakfast was average. To be fair both mornings they were pretty busy, particularly the Saturday morning. We felt the food wasn't overly warm and were a bit disappointed there was no fried eggs/hash browns/fried bread etc. We had two evening meals also. Again we felt they were fine (generous portions) but nothing overly exciting. The staff were helpful to us.
Incidentally on Tripadvisor, I I think there should be a 'Good' rating, because there is a big difference between Average and Very Good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Allycat80,
Thank you for all your feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed the space and room facilities. I do apoligise for the dissapointment on breakfast as we do have items on request from the kitchen such as fried, boiled or poached eggs etc. We hope to see you back again
Best Regards
Sheila
Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    165
    97
    40
    28
See reviews for
162
141
11
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here back in June. Hotel looks impressive on drive up to it. Once you are in the room it is not so impressive. Stained carpet and dirty walls. Rooms really needed to be freshened up. Also the worst part was that our room had a door joining onto the room next door, which was locked. You could hear EVERYTHING from the room next door. Had to keep increasing the volume on the TV to block them out!
Just as well we were out and about a lot (loved Sligo) and didnt spend much time in the room.
Pool is ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Curefan,
I note you stayed in June and appreciate your review, the hotel is under constant refurbishment as it is a large building. I do apologise if your room was not upto standard. The interconnecting rooms have 2 sets of doors, it is possible that the door on the other side was open thus not blocking out totaly the noise from the other room, again I apologise for this. We could have rectified it at the time had we known. I hope this would not deter you from returning and we hope to see you again.
Best Regards
Sheila
Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

just home , booked a suite which comprises 1 double and a single in master room and a sofa bed with a single bed which they said was extra but we persuaded them otherwise :) , in living area was a decent TV ,fridge,safe,tea & coffee facilities, it was more like a small apartment , bathroom was huge, the only issue we had was distance for younger children to find room, it was a tad confusing.Staff were friendly , had a meal which was average with a great wine list unfortunately none of the wines were available (poor)... would return as a good get away with the kids but they would need to improve on a few areas.
Pool area was good but unfortunately there was a birthday party booked which took presidents over guests so we could only use 1/4 of pool ..strange that guests should suffer !!..

Room Tip: ask for family suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Lakesidemail,
Thank you for your feedback and I am delighted that overall you enjoyed the facilities and service. It is an old listed building so some rooms have a bit of a walk to but on a plus the rooms are hugh with plenty of facilities for families. We are currently updating our wine list and so some wines are being discontinued and replaced with a new range. We have kids parties for our guests and members of the club but hold swimming lanes for anyone else wishing to swim. We notify times in advance that a party or class may be in use in a part of the pool. I do apologise and hope these did not inconvenience you too much.
Best Regards
Sheila
Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had a fantastic weekend. We paid a bit extra for a suite as we had the children with us and it was worth every penny. Huge bright, clean rooms - excellent facilities, great breakfast and helpful staff. The children loved the pool which was warm and we relaxed in the Jacuzzi & steam room. The crazy golf was also a bit hit. There was a great gym and the resturant was reasonably priced. I would higly recommend and will definatley be back. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear FionaT,
Thank you for your lovely review and that you enjoyed the space in our suites. We have 90 suites which are excellent for families with a dining, sitting and kitchenette areas. We hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards
Sheila
Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We took our two granddaughters aged 5 & 11 on a supervalue 3 day break on august bank holiday Sunday. Accommodation was only a bedroom but as the weather had changed we decided a suite would be a better option! There was an additional 30e charge per night but well worth it when we landed in the suite!
It was at the side of hotel and huge! I had asked that there was no adjoining door between suites- room 2115 if anyone is interested! Hallway into huge lounge, it was as good as an apartment!
Bedroom had double bed and two singles so there was no arguing between the kids!!!
We ate in hotel both in restaurant and bar and found both very good!
Pool facilities excellent, we forgot armbands for 5yr old, pool was too deep for her to stand, so they kindly lent us a pair, which saved buying a pair!
We all enjoyed crazy golf except being beaten by two junior would be golfers!!

I had looked at trip advisor before we arrived at hotel and was unsure of what to expect!!! We have stayed in numerous hotels both in Ireland and abroad and the Clarion Sligo is one that we will definitely return to! Our grandchildren had a great time and were so upset at leaving, as we were! Wish we could have stayed longer!

But we will return!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear DaisyMayMeath,
Thank you for your favourable feedback on our services and facilities. I am delighted that you all thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel.
Best Regards
Sheila
Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Over the past five years this has been our go to hotel when we need a night away- we seen it as a family friendly base two hours away where we were welcomed,had a stress free break and never had any problems.

We have visited about 20 times over five years.Sadly,julys visit will be our last and we will bring our custom to the radisson out the road.

The hotel was recently taken over by another chain and it is very evident by basic procedures and lack of customer service.every day of our 3 day stay presented new problems- eg woken up at 9.20 by cleaners, extortionate exchange rate (make sure you pay cash!!!) free sligo rovers camp organised, we registered our interest and told to attend net day,when we arrived v embarrassing as no one had heard from us. The bed in the suite we paid extra for was in tatters and we had to get new bed in rendering the space in suite pointless!!we are not fussy folk. This is the first time I have ever had to complain in a hotel , we were given 35 euro voucher but the whole experience left bad taste and will not return to this hotel we once loved.

Receptionist was very pretty and had wonderful fake eyelashes but the least friendliest check out ever, she just grunted, didn't ask about our stay and threw invoice at me.

Sad end of an era with the clarion sligo, it was once a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Vernon Grey,
Thank you for your feedback and valued business over the years. I am unable to identify your contact or booking details and would appreciate the opportunity of discussing the issues you had with you. Could you please contact me when its convienenant on sgray@clarionhotelsligo.com. I look forward to hearing from you.
Best Regards
Sheila
Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We rang the hotel at 1pm on day of arrival to book a last minute night away and the receptionist was lovely and we bagged a bargain. However, when we arrived at the hotel, the first thing we were asked was would we like to pay our bill!!! I was affronted. I have never, ever been asked to pay in advance for my accommodation. Anyway, our room was clean, spacious, and had a great iron and hairdryer! The window's are very high which felt weird so we had no view. We had a meal in Bar Kudos which was excellent, our waiter was very efficient even thought they were extremely busy. We had a great night's sleep but were awakened by the residents upstairs at 6am...Breakfast was superb but the restaurant was extremely hot, it felt like the heating was up to the max (in August) I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear JDevaney,
Thank you for your review and recommendation. It would be stadnard practise in all hotels to pay the first night accommodation if you make the booking on the day of arrival and of course on last minute availability you get the chance to avail of any special deals that we have. We hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards
Sheila
Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sligo

Address: Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Sligo
Sligo Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Sligo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.