We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheeful - v. friendly staff!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Sligo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Sligo to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Sligo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheeful - v. friendly staff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We got a last minute deal through lidlbreaks.ie. The hotel itself is housed in a fabulous old building. Lots of character from the outside, although it has been modernised to it's detriment on he inside. The staff couldn't find our reservation, but they were really helpful and apologetic for the wait. We had dinner included, which was really nice - really good steak! Breakfast was also nice, particularly the pastries! :-) It was a super deal at €49 per person for b & b and an evening meal. Couldn't fault it at that price. It's a bit outside the town, so not ideal if you wanted to be in the middle of everything. Also, there was a party in nearby self-catering accommodation so the sleep wasn't great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Maressa,
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and felt the hotel was good value with our services and facilities. I hope we see you back again sometime.
Best Regards
Sheila

Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    165
    98
    40
    28
See reviews for
163
141
11
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I begin by confessing that Clarion Hotels are not my hotel brand of choice but on this occasion the Clarion Sligo was provided for me by my employer.
I was allocated a room on the -1 floor which was very difficult to locate. Take a lift to the first floor, walk along a long corridor and take another lift to the -1 floor. Room was spacious and clean, old box style TV - always an indication that management prefer to save money rather than to spent to update and improve.
The real let down in this hotel is breakfast. Begin with cheap juice tasting false and unpleasant. Continue with soggy looking fruit served from one bowl and looking less than fresh. Progress to cooked items of doubtful quality served on stone cold plates rendering them instantly less than luke warm.
I'm relieved that I neither choose this hotel or paid for it. Even free, it was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Redhand,
I do apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us at all, I am happy to discuss this direct with you if you would like to contact me. Obviously your company has used us and therefore booked you and on a recommendation. I would appreciate the opportunity to clarify the issues you had. I look forward to hearing from you.
Best Regards
Sheila

Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night, on a business trip. I happened to be the last night of the G7 summit meeting in Fermanagh and the overflow of Russian 'embassy staff' were everywhere. The hotel was extremely busy with all of this but we were facilitated perfectly and other than the large number of 'special' cars in the car park and lots of 'men in black' around the hotel, it was not noticeable that there was anything unusual going on. The staff and management got on with their work, calmly and efficiently and we were made to feel that we were the most important guests there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear SkindiverDublin,
The hotel hosted the main Russian delegation for the G8 Summit and as with any large group their facilities and staff allocated were seperate from other guests staying so as to ensure all guests are well looked after. I am delighted that this was your experience.
Best Regards
Sheila

Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night while not business in Sligo.

It is not up to standard , when I stayed the dining room was closed as they had a conference using it .

All the residents were expected to eat in the bar area. Breakfast was a disaster , self service , food cold, awful.

When I spoke to duty manager he was dressed in Grey tracksuit & T shirt -- very unprofessional

Room Tip: Very long isolated corridors , so demand a room near the lift if you don't fancy a long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Wicklow_11,
I do apologise for your dissapointment on the main restaurant but we do have 2 restaurants, the larger of which was reserved for a large group staying with us. The Manager of Duty that day was our Leisure Centre Manager who is one of our most senior managers on the team. His departmental uniform would not take from his level of professionalism, however I accept your point of view.
Best Regards
Sheila

Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

A really lovely hotel, with excellent facilities. Staff were lovely and wry helpful. Good location although it is a little bit out of town. The food in particular was exceptional and the breakfast was very good quality considering it was buffet style. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Joanne 1302,
Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to your return visit.
Best Regards
Sheila

Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice SPACIOUS hotel with comfortable amenities. We enjoyed reading the history of the original use as an asylum. The building is beautiful. I'd definitely stay here again. They have a spa but we didn't have time to use its services. The breakfast buffet was a little better than the average Irish breakfast buffet that we encountered. While in Sligo, be certain that you see Carrowkeel Megalithic Cemetary.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear DrJane Mom,
Thank you for your feedback, its a pity your stay wasnt long enought to enjoy the spa. The Megalithic Tombs are magnificient and Sligo has the largest number of Tombs in Ireland, some pre dating the Pyramids in Egypt, so there's plenty to do and see here.
Hope to see you again.
Best Regards
Sheila

Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We arrived here on a beautiful sunny Saturday at noon. We were a little earlier than the designated check-in time but decided to try our luck at getting to check-in early - this wasn't a problem, and even got a complimentary upgrade to a suite! Our room was beautiful with a kitchen/diner and living room, large double bedroom and bathroom. The rooms are tastefully decorated and quite modern. The bonus of a fridge was brilliant for this scorching weekend as we could keep drinks cool for our picnic the next day! The only down side of this fabulous room was it was quite a bit away from reception - up in the lift, across a few corridors and down in another lift - strange layout! But in saying that definitely worth it for the room facilities and size, it just may present a problem if someone's mobility is restricted.

We dined in the hotel restaurant, food was okay - I had the fish cakes and cod, my partner the prawns and salmon. The prawns did not seem fresh, more like they had just been defrosted. We have come to find hotel food to be quite hit and miss so didn't have overly high expectations.

We ordered breakfast to be delivered to our room the next morning. They had forgotten to bring my order of porridge and a croissant so we decided to phone reception as I do not like cooked breakfast. They immediately brought up what was requested and a complimentary fruit basket!

Check-out was very efficient with no queues. Staff are very attentive at this hotel. We really did not want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear GMG186470,
Thank you for your kind comments on the staff and service. I do apologise at the dissapointment on your food but glad that it did not take from your overall stay with us. We hope to see you again sometime.
Best Regards
Sheila

Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sligo

Address: Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Sligo
Sligo Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Sligo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.