We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Sligo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Sligo to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Sligo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
louth
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights last week. The outside of this hotel is lovely. Unfortunately the inside of the building is just ok! The inside of the building is a maze of corridors, my room was a long walk from reception. I tried to book a massage but was told it was not open?? Unless some other people booked in. Not the 4 star hotel I thought it would be. Rooms were ok a bit tight for my liking but clean and the bed was comfortable, the tv needs to be upgraded to a flat screen. The bathroom was ok with your standard white tile a bit disappointing for a 4 star. The breakfast was ok with a good range of times for room service. Salt and other little touches were missing from the tray! The restraunt was nice a good selection of food, beautiful cheesecake! It was all ok overall, the saving grace for this hotel was that it was a good price, fitting for what it was.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Kj041,
Thank you for your review. The hotel does have long corridors as this is beautiful old restored building with unique character and charm complimented by the large lawns and restored churches on the grounds. The spa is availabe for advanced booking only at this time of year so I do apologise for your dissapointment on this. I am delighted that your room was clean and comfortable if not to your taste and that you enjoyed the food. We do hope to see you back again in the future.

Best Regards

Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    192
    121
    47
    35
See reviews for
190
168
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed in this hotel recently as part of a large group of people. Arrived at 7pm. Went to dining room at 7.10 to be told that we were too late for early bird dinner and we had to have sandwiches instead. Later had an Irish Coffee in the bar, which was luke warm. When I returned it to the barman who served me, he argued with me and said he would not replace it. Manager had to be called who was very nice and replaced it. Following evening we had dinner in the restaurant. 4 people out of our group were left waiting for their dinner even after the rest of the group were well finished finished. The bedrooms were fine and lovely clean bedding. Breakfast to the room was very poor and also cold. I would most definitely not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Lauralou18,

Thank you for your feedback during your stay with us. I do apologise for the issue you had with the Irish Coffee and the room service breakfast, both were made hot at the time of ordering and I am glad this was sorted with you then. In relation to the group dinner, the 4 members of your party were not present when the group order was taken for dinner and subsequentely this caused the delay in their meals. We did offer a gesture of a drink to them at the time. Overall we had good feedback from your group and we hope to see you again.

Best Regards
Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here the weekend before Halloween after trying to and failing to get a room at the nearby glass house. The outside of this hotel is absolutely stunning with beautiful grounds housing the breath-taking gothic building. Unfortunately the inside of the building appears like any other generic hotel. no effort has been taken to capture the character of the building ( the old sligo mental asylum) which is a shame.
The inside of the building is a maze of corridors, our room was a ten minute walk from reception and involved getting two lifts one up and then one down. This doesnt really bother me too much but the hotel didnt seem to be too busy so i couldn't fathom the need to room us so far from the main hub of the hotel.
however these r jus minor complaints really and our stay here was nice. being honest i would rather hav stayed in the glass house but this is primarily jus for the location.
Monica the receptionist was a bit cold and not very welcoming on our checking and didnt seem to have a lot of patience however the rest of the staff were more than friendly and helpful.
A few people we were talkin to did tell us a couple of stories about the hotel being haunted and bein Halloween weekend my girlfriend did freak out a bit lol. but this jus added to our stay.
all in all i would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Legendderry,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay with us. The facade of the building is Elizabethian period, however much of the interior was destroyed during the period the building was left vacent. As such we have a more modern interior and a design in keeping with a 4 star hotel layout. The building has a long lay out in keeping with the facade and we are very busy at weekends, so I do apologise for the distance of your room to reception. I am delighted that you would return and if there's anything I can do to make your stay more enjoyable, Please let me know.

Best Regards

Sheila Gray
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here as part of a Hen weekend, found the hotel very good & the staff were helpful, the hotel is a good bit out of town, 15- 20min walk,but the girl at reception gave us a number of a local taxi driver and he gave us his card & collected & picked us up from town when ever we needed him.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSligo, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Sligo, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Josiejump1975,
Thank you for your recommendation of the hotel in your review from your group and we hope you consider us for other occassions in the furure.

Best Regards
Sheila Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Sligo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sligo

Address: Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Sligo
Sligo Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Sligo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.