We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful tapas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Casa Mia

A Casa Mia
Tobergal Lane | The Italian Quarter, Sligo 0000, Ireland
0719141690
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 79 Restaurants in Sligo
Price range: $0 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hosting a communal table seating up to 26 people which is surrounded by cosy individual tables for a those wanting a more intimate experience. Outside seating also available on Tobergal Lane which is Sligo's pedestrianised area along the Garavogue river.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Beautiful tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I'm surprised this restaurant is so far down the list of restaurants in Sligo on tripadvisor. I thought it was great. The layout of the restaurant is very different with a huge communal table in the middle and then little tables all along the windows. We got a lovely table in the window overlooking the river. We had 4 dishes to share between 2 and it was plenty. The highlight was definitely the potatoes and chorizo with a fried egg on top, so tasty. The wine was great as were the staff and to top it all off it was reasonably priced. This will be my first stop on my next visit to Sligo.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    42
    15
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Casa Mia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a fine little tapas place right on the river in the Italian section. The roasted vegetables were deliciously done; not too much oil - very flavorful.
The goat cheese salad was also delicious; without too much dressing. Finally the smoked salmon was delicious too.
the staff was very friendly. We sat by the window. The table had a little light bar that served as a bit of privacy screen from the larger room.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Overly Dependent on a Can of Tomatoes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I ordered the day's vegetarian main, supposedly a bean stew, and was thoroughly disappointed. It wasn't savoury, and it wasn't a stew. Stew has a thickness beyond this, which I felt wasn't far removed from a soup, really. The abundance of flavourless tomato overwhelmed the dish, and there was no balance--far too much acid. I left half of it in the bowl. The surroundings are pleasant enough, with communal seating, very casual.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very good value for lunch, quite cheap compared to other places in town. Great for singles as you can sit at large table in the middle and read the paper and still be surrounded by people. A sun-trap outside (in case of sun, not always a given). Tapas in the evening are great, would recommend the Spanish potatoes and egg. Can be a bit confused if there is a crowd - you have to queue to place your order - can be very annoying and time consuming. Don't know why they can't do table service. Despite this it's a great place to meet up.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great meal - interesting surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Italian tapas served here in an un-rushed laid back atmosphere. Menu is not typical but I enjoyed the three tapas I had. The salad was so fresh and flavoursome. The prawns were succulent and aromatic. Great if dining by oneself, in two or as a group. Location a A1. Highly recommended. Perfetto!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Casa Mia also viewed

Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 
Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to A Casa Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Casa Mia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.