We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fabio's

Fabio's
Wine Street - Just Off O'Connell Street, Sligo, Ireland
+353 87 177 2732
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 88 Restaurants in Sligo
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Description: Freshly made on site italian style Ice Cream (Gelato), Pizza Slice, Salad, Pasta Dish & Organic Italian Coffee ......
Sligo, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had THE most amazing ice cream with my daughter, and two cousins here. The guy was so friendly.
When we went in I realised that I hadn't enough cash in my purse, so I asked if he took laser card, He said he didn't, so I said I would go to an ATM and come back.
He was having none of it - he gave me my coffee, the the kids there ice cream and told me to come back and pay whenever it suited me! Never asked for my name or anything!

Don't worry I went to the ATM straight afterwards and went back to pay him!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    9
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

While visiting Sligo, I was brought to a great tiny little coffee and ice-cream shop. What a treat!! Fabio's Gelato is now serving soup which was fabulous. 13 vegetables, dairy and gluten free but full of taste. I had the chocolate gelato, it was superb as was the coffee. i was there with an Italian friend and along with other customers Fabio was engaging and fun. Having gone in for a quick coffee we stayed for nearly an hour. Definitely a place to recommend!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great coffee! And great icecream!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Fabio has very good coffee. His place is small with some seating, perfect for that fleeting espresso... his ice creams are to die for. Always worth trying out his new flavours. Proper homemade goodness!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stumbled into Fabio's looking for a cafe mocha and left totally satisfied! One of the best coffee's we had in Ireland (made to order of course) and absolutely delicious gelato (recommend the 'hazelnut' with berries and cream). The (Irish) owner spent some time in San Francisco and undoubtedly could have a very successful franchise in the States. We asked for a lunch recommendation and he gave us two - one in town and one out of town (Strandhill) when he realized we had a car. GREAT SUGGESTIONS. Would make a special trip next time in Ireland for the gelato.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

At 4oclock on a busy Saturday there was a choice of about 3 icecreams. I choose cappuchino and there was nothing special about it. For over 3 euros and previous reviews I expected something better. The shop is tiny and the owner surly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fabio's also viewed

Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to Fabio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fabio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.