We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food, excellent quality, value and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eala Bhan

Eala Bhan
Rockwood Parade, Sligo, Ireland
353719145823
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 95 Restaurants in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Eala Bhan Restaurant in Sligo Town offers the best in fine dining, specialising in fresh Seafood and Steak.
Dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, excellent quality, value and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Had early bird set menu here recently, and at 19.99 for 3 courses it was amazing value. The food was of a high standard. Waitress was very helpful and pleasant. Nice decor.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant and will be back on my next visit to Sligo!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    82
    37
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Super delicious and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have been to Eala Bhan four times now trying the lunch , early bird and dinner menus. Each time I have tried something different and have never been disappointed. Pasta dishes taste so fresh and creamy and usually I would get quite bored after two tastes of a pasta dish. Chicken fish steaks all very good. I absolutely love the pesto they serve with bread before starters, i wish they bottled it up and sold it, I mentioned it to the waitress on my last visit and I was given a free jar to take home by the owner, yummy !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was our first time eating in Eala Bhan and i have to say i would go back again and again and again!! The food was superb along with the service. We were a table of two that had booked and my recommendation would be to book as they are very busy. When we arrived we were shown to our table however they have no front of house desk which i did find unusual but it did not take away from the experience. We were served by a very pleasant and informative young waitress, who took our order and returned promptly with a small taster of soup and bread free of charge which was gorgeous. I opted for the Taste of the Sea starter to die for scallop, crab, prawn and all cooked in different ways looked fantastic and tasted better. My partner had the belly pork which he thought was equally as good. We both went for the Rib eye steak which came on a bed of champ with tobacco onions on top - divine. We shared a desert the sticky toffee pudding and for me this was the jewel in the crown it was so fresh and light and tasted incredible the balance of sweetness to the blackberry sauce with it was fab. I had two glasses of wine and my partner one bottle of Coors light. Price wise you get what you pay for really we had two starters, two mains (steak), one desert, two glasses of wine and a bottle of beer for €94.00. Defo worth a try i would highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We visit this restaurant almost every time we are in Sligo. As said before the food is excellent - well presented and very tasty. Would definitely recommend a visit

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant atmosphere with excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

All the previous reviews say it all really. This is one of the best restaurants in Sligo - book it and enjoy! The food is a visual delight and eats well and the service is attentive without being obtrusive. A minor criticism of my 'hake on a bed of spinach' would be the amount of spinach could be bigger, it was hardly 'a bed'. Yes, I know spinach reduces hugely when cooked, but my bed was only a spoonful.The taster soup starter was appreciated and very good and the warm chicken salad excellent. It is a very popular eating place in Sligo - book early, or be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eala Bhan also viewed

 
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to Eala Bhan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eala Bhan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.