We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cramped but ok” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Well Theatre

Hawks Well Theatre
Temple Street, Sligo, Ireland
353 (0)71 61518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 77 attractions in Sligo
Type: Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Hawk's Well is a 340 seat theatre in Sligo, North West Ireland. We host a diverse programme of arts and entertainments including comedy, professional and amateur drama, a wide range of music from traditional and jazz to opera, plus dance, pantomime, children's theatre and comedy.Our attractive bar/foyer hosts a year-round programme of exhibitions by professional and amateur artists and photographers. This year the Hawk’s Well is celebrating its 30th year!
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very cramped but ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I remeber coming here when I did the singing camp with Jim Malley last year. I also come here when Musicals are on such Les Mis, Througly Modern Milly,etc which I think is a postive ongoing thing to happen in the Hawkwell theatre. Now for negatives, I think the seats are too cramped which makes too small to fit anyone in like if a show was worth going to see then thats why it gets sold out easily. The theatre is worth the visit regardless.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meath, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely little theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I visited here to attend a lecture as part of the Tread Softly festival. It is a nice small theatre of a kind that deserves lots of support. Clean, tidy, good foyer/reception area with a decent bar which would be a good addition to an evening visit but wasn't for me at a 9.30 am lecture! However, the bar staff had plenty of tea and coffee laid on which was great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great wee venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

With only 350 seats this small venue provides an intimate atmosphere where you feel you can interact with the performers. We were at a concert and the atmosphere was fantastic!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
110 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Lovely little in town theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a wonderful theatre located directly in the center of town with plenty of parking. Went to see The Factory Girls for 13.50 euro. Although there seemed to be a pretty full house, our group was able to sit close to the front middle. The sound system is top notch as well as the stage, actors, and employees. Restrooms were clean, bright and large. There is a bar with drinks and snacks as well as many pb tables to sit at during intermission. They even allow you to pre order your drinks so you donot havr to waste time staning in line during the break. Had a great time, not to be missed!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We went to see the music group Solas. A first for us. Another first for us was seeing them in Ireland at the Hawks Well Theatre. What a nice venue! The seats were comfy with plenty of room for those with long legs. The sound and acoustics spot on. There is a nicely stocked bar in the lobby with plenty of tables to enjoy your beverage and talk without being drowned out by others. There is balcony seating available too.
The gentleman I worked with when buying the tickets was very accommodating to this rookie. Great venue for any type of theatre production.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawks Well Theatre also viewed

Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 
Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to Hawks Well Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Well Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hawks Well Theatre to your Saves list