We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed by the new facilities.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park

Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park to your Saves list
Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park
Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sligo
Omagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Impressed by the new facilities.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park has been an old favourite of our familiy for many years. We hadn't been there since Easter 2010 so we were impressed by the new facilities that had been put in during our absence. There is a new reception area complete with a TV room, a pool room and a very impressive camper's kitchen. The council have also installed a new playpark just right beside the caravan site which the kids loved.
We spent a lovely night in Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park and enjoyed it so much that my husband and I persuaded the grandparents to mind the kids so we could come back on our own for a night a few weeks later. We had a great night on that visit as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    3
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here on 18th July travelling trouygh on our cycle from Mizen to Malin head. We had stayed in a few campsites along the way and can say that strandhill really was one of the best, in terms of cleanliness, great location and excellent really friendly staff. Strandhill is to be highly recommended for its high standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I returned here again in our camper. Once again we were delighted by this site. The manager Tom and his staff work very hard to maintain the excellent standards we experience at this site. The facilities and location are great. To be highly reccommended

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Camped for a week, found it to be very good. Clean,tidy well run, no noise. Showers/toilets spotless. Good value for two adulds and two kids. Good access to beach although beach is not safe for swiming due to swell . But great for surfing and body boarding. Kids love playground/ tennis although it is public it was not busy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cavan, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park is one of Ireland's best kept secrets.
We visit as often as we can during the season and find Joanne (the blonde girl), Niall and the older man at reception most helpful.
Thoughts of the place certainly keep us going during those long winter evenings. The campsite is right on the beach with good restaurants, bakery, surf schools & long walks all to hand. It's great to just park up and not have to be concerned with driving for a few days. What's best is it's long prom, perfect for sitting back and watching all the fit looking surfers practicing their skills!!! Oh dear...I guess it's not a secret anymore now....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sligo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

the location was good close to beach's and shops Very expensive for pitch as kids play ground not part of park so very busy with general public no faciltys for kids on site except. small room with pool table..?????5 euro for extra person, a night! Plus deposit for for fob, plus €1.50 for a shower,(they should be free) so cant see what value you are getting for 44 euro a night for family with teenagers and young kids office, blond girl on site very bad mannered for front of house represitive willl not be rushing back as a lot more friendly and family camp sites in sligo

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den haag
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

yes at 20 per night for a tiny tent then they charge 1.50 for a shower (water can hardly crawl out of the spout!)...additionally we were kept awake ALL NIGHT by drunken people shreiking and singing in the sand dunes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park

Address: Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strandhill Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Sligo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.