We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly, really good bistro-style food and ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Source Sligo Restaurant - CLOSED

Source Sligo Restaurant
1/2 John St., Sligo, Ireland
+353 71 9147605
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly, really good bistro-style food and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our family (9 adults, 5 kids) went here for my daughter's 40th. We had a big table and great fun. The staff (and, it has to be said, other patrons) were very tolerant of small children! The service was excellent, friendly and efficient and the food - prepared in the open kitchen area - was really tasty and catered to the needs of various family members (vegetarian, Coeliac). Everyone (the adults, that is) agreed it would be top of our list next time we wanted to eat in Sligo.
Just be aware it's quite a large open room and fitted out in bistro style - if you are looking for intimate surroundings and silver service, it's not for you (though the food could be!).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    49
    23
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“good early bird menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

ate here on a tuesday night ,had booked for early bird menu,served 5 to 7pm..shown a table when we went in ,but given no menus ?,after 5 mins went over to counter to get menu myself,asked a waitress at counter for jug of water ,she said in a minute ? needed water ,as extraction fan must have being broke a lot of smoke in restaurant.
water never came had to ask again ten mins . later.given lukewarm water,second bottle got after was lovely and cold.
only 2 girls serving,clearing tables and rushed off their feet.
our soup was lovely,our main courses very masterchef style,but need a little more veg on them,but tasted delicious.dessert while small tasted good.
5 stars for meal,just service needs attention.while we were there loads of people came in stood , waited left without anyone coming over to them.some came in sat at dirty tables ,cleared themselves,got menus,.a please wait to beseated needs to be in place,with someone to give menus and take drink orders.more staff needed to help.
will go back as food was so good

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Sligo, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Source,remains a hidden jewel in the slowly increasing gastronomic maze of Sligo.Beautiful food, funky environment and such a great team working there.The early bird at an amazing price of 20 euro which is hard to believe is for 3 courses and coffee! I have to confess of being a fan of this restaurant but examples of the attentiveness of the staff ,when we requested only a bottle wine and a couple of starters ( no main course ) no problem , when we ordered a single dessert to share ,it arrived with a double of all the side ingredient to enjoy .Long may this customer orientated service continue ,well done

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“please visit you wont be let down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We walked in of the street and got a table the menu was spot on they had no guinness but the waitress went and got me one from across the road what more can you say about service, we had a lovely meal and would go back again many thanks

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“EVERYTHING is good in here!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Well this was such a great find, we are from Toronto Canada and we have a plethora of options here, well this is a little jewel in Ireland. Every part of the meal was wonderful, spices, quantity, flavors were so well put together to enhance the food. TRULY a treat, I wish we had another night to eat here, I did run in and get a piece of cheesecake for the road, YUMMY! The service is honest, lovely, humble and kind.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Source Sligo Restaurant also viewed

Sligo, County Sligo
Strandhill, Sligo
 
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Source Sligo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.