We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of County Sligo Heritage and Genealogy Society

County Sligo Heritage and Genealogy Society
Aras Redden | Temple Street, Sligo, Ireland
353-71-43728
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 118 things to do in Sligo
Attraction details
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you are seeking some guidance on your genealogy research, a visit here is an absolute must. The warm and welcoming staff are happy to take a look at your documents and point you in the right direction for further research and give valuable advice.

I was able to obtain a few documents from their archive that had alluded me and after some very helpful advice from Claire, I was able to visit the church where my great-great grandparents were married as well as visit the street where they lived.

It is best to come prepared with some of your own research and they can help you expand your search and possibly track down additional materials. There are fees associated with document searches but it is extremely reasonable (keep in mind they are a non-profit organization).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I met with Adrian Regan who was very helpful in finding my family from the Sligo area. He found many family members dating back to the early 1800's. He provided me with a map showing the town locations as well as the printout of the family information.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“A great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The staff put up with me for about an hour as they spoke to me about genealogy and did checking for records on my family. They gave me advice as to places I should visit, and provided me (for a fee) with a few transcriptions of records that I had missed. Best to contact them in advance of your trip if you want much looked up, as they can't just figure it all out on the spot, especially if you're just starting your research and don't know much about your ancestors. It saved me a bit of time ultimately, in that I was then able to use what they'd given me to go view the original records.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Genealogy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

very helpful staff. no information could be traced for our ancestry line and no fee charged by staff for time spent

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed County Sligo Heritage and Genealogy Society also viewed

Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to County Sligo Heritage and Genealogy Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County Sligo Heritage and Genealogy Society, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.