We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location..but!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location..but!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect for a short stroll to the bars and restaurants of Sligo town. It's also only 5-10 mins drive to the beautiful beaches at Strandhill and Rosse Point. The hotel itself seems to have had some modernisation downstairs in reception and the bar but the bedrooms are somewhat drab and dated. They were however clean and the beds we're comfy. The showers were old but worked perfectly well. I guess if you want a boutique style, the this is not for you. If you want comfort, quiet and a good location, it is perfect. Unfortunately we were locked out of our original room twice and a staff member had to climb through the window to release the door! The staff however we're helpful, dealt with the issue immediately and we're always very polite and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Jon W,

Thank you for your feedback, and we do apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the u bolt locking on your bedroom door, we addressed the issue immediately and the lock has since been changed.

We are delighted you found our team to be very polite and accommodating and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kindest regards

T.Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    124
    97
    52
    45
See reviews for
53
186
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Older style hotel but the rooms need updating - badly.
Location of the hotel was good, a short walk into the centre of town, but nothing to complain about.
Despite the rooms being old, they were tidy and comfortable, but having said that, the room I was allocated had a neon sign near the window, so the light that came into the room was somewhat annoying. Didn't complain due to it being only a 1 night stay.
The restaurant location and décor was unusual, but the food was fine.
Overall, was adequate for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear RedDevil1978,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre. Our rooms are constantly being revamped and we try and keep them in line with the old world feel of the hotel, the neon sign is turned off at night, and if you had let us know we would have turned it off on request.

We look forward to welcoming you back when your next in this part of the world

Kindest regards

T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odder, Denmark
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A nice big hotel - not very personal - ok service. The food served in the bar was ok, and no more. The room was very nice and clean. Acces to the town-center a little long. Next time I would choose an accomodation closer to citycenter.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room not facing the street. (they an be a bit noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Ole H,

We appreciate your feedback and are disappointed that you felt we are a distance from the town centre, as its only a 5 minute walk to Sligo's main street.

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments and have discussed same with our team

We look forward to meeting you again when you are next in the North West of Ireland

Kindest regards

T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed for two days and in terms of location, it was great. Everything wasin walking distance, especially an excellent pub, Donaghy's. The rooms are nicely sized with a large bathroom. Our toilet drained slowly and was difficult to flush. I think if I had pushed it, we would have been offered a different room which would have been fine. The elevator had strange pink lighting which was kind of sickening. It was the only hotel we stayed in that had its own parking so it was nice to avoid parking garage charges.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Kathryn C,

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your recent stay with us, we appreciate all feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time your this side of the atlantic

Kindest regards

T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed for 3 days and were met by a very helpful member of staff who gave us some good info on places to see while we were in Sligo. All of this info proved to be very helpful with some brilliant views in all the places we went to. We had booked B&B and evening meal which was delicious. The breakfast had all the usual to suit all tastes and there was plenty of everything on offer. The meal was also good with about five choices to choose from. The staff all round are friendly and very helpful. The bar is huge with some good seating & well placed to give that private feeling. The lounge area could seat about 100 and all in good comfortable seats. Bar food is also very good, service if fast & clean. We used the pool & though it is small it was impeccably clean. Lots of hot water for showers & the bedrooms were tidy, maybe a little basic & if I were to find a fault anywhere during out stay it would be that there could have been some more drawer space in the rooms. A small complaint I know but that is all I could say about it. Would I go back again ? most definitely.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Fran-Maria,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow trip advisor users, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken on board your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre when your next up in the north west

Kindest regards
T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

went here for a solo relaxing break
staff were very friendly and helpful
had booked a room at front as asthmatic and fresh air very important..
when i arrived i had been given a room looking onto a courtyard with poor air quality
this was handled very well and i was immediately given a room facing onto the front with a lovely fresh feeling.
from that moment on i relaxed.
a lovely hotel to relax and the pool was lovely/
great location to walk into the town.
bringing my husband back in July and as a treat have booked a luxury room. .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear MRSFATTYBelfast,

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to offer your feedback, we look forward to welcoming yourself and you husband back in July

See you soon

Regards
T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Had a wonderfull week-end stay in this lovely old Sligo hotel with my extended family and friends (35 persons,ranging in age from under 2 to over 70) Emily and her staff met all our requirements in the most helpful and friendly manner.Rooms ,food and amenities were excellent.Highly recommended,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear adrian b,

Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted you and your extended family enjoyed your break at the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre. We loved having you and look foward to welcoming you all back again in the near future

Regards
T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel

Address: Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel is a family owned and operated hotel that has been a major player in the hospitality business in Sligo for over 20 years. We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 98 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. Kick start your day with a hearty hot breakfast from the large breakfast buffet. We serve an appetising bar menu through out the day, from gourmet sandwiches and traditional Atlantic chowder to mouth-watering main courses all of which is very popular with locals, our Garden Room restaurant offers an extensive menu each evening using fresh produce sources from local suppliers. We also serve a variety of pastries, scones and finger sandwiches which can be enjoyed throughout the day beside an open fires in our lobbies The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. Sligo, home to the infamous poet and playwright WB Yeats offers a wide range of amenities from the 340 seat Hawks Well theatre which hosts a diverse programme of arts and entertainments to the 12 screen multiplex Gaiety Cinema. We have it all, riverside cafes, museums, art galleries, shopping centres and within a 5 mile radius you have a choice of beaches, links golf courses, woodland walks and scenery renowned internationally. For our active clientele there is a fitness trail freely available in Sligo Town. Follow the river to the entrance of Lough Gill and along the way avail of an outside gym and a woodland walk, all within walking distance of the hotel and Hazelwood Forest Walk is just 3 kilometres outside Sligo on the shores of Lough Gill, follow the nature trail, enjoy lake views, picnic areas and unique wooden sculptures. The BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre offer a variety of holidays to suit all tastes, activity breaks include surfing, stand up paddle boarding, golfing and walking to name but a few, theatre breaks, over 50's and family holidays are also on offer all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sligo Southern Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.