We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Sligo Southern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at Sligo Southern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Myself, my wife and our two children stayed for the last 6 nights. We found the accommodation really good value and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is great for the many excellent restaurants and bars in Sligo and just a few minutes drive from both Rosses Point and Strandhill Golf clubs - both must plays if you are a golfer staying in the area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Tony L,

Thank you kindly for your feedback it is greatly appreciated and we are delighted yourself and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel in the near future

Regards
T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    124
    97
    52
    45
See reviews for
53
186
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

living in sligo, we decided to go here for some food on the June bank holiday Sunday, we had to wait 1 and 15 mins for food!!One bar man was on, doing the drinks and food with a bar full of people and a coach full of people arrived in. we ended up cancelling our starters because we were waiting so long. I just ordered a portion of fish fingers (4 fish fingers on a plate with nothing else) and i was charged for a full kids meal! when i questioned it as i only ordered a portion not the full meal i was told " thats what price the till is showing up". How you can justify that as an answer i dont know? Can the staff not use there own cop on or are they dependent on a till? I think that customer service should be a priority these days, but going by this episode i nor my family will not be returning. It was disgraceful!

Room Tip: if u want ot stay for location fair enough but very poor hotel! my family who visit quite often will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear linda S,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, we do apologise for the service on the day, and rest assured this is not the norm. We have taken your comments on board and the matter has been addressed and procedures put in place

Regards
T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the night spent here. I was a bit dismayed when I saw the "Best Western", thinking "Oh no. Not an American style hotel." But was pleasantly surprised by the ambiance. The lobby and public areas reminded me of the Victorian era. The room was spacious, clean, warm, well stocked with tea and coffee. We ate dinner there that night, I have pictures to prove it, but for the life of me I cannot remember the meal! That would be a good indication that there was nothing wrong with the meal or I would have remembered it!
Since we were with a tour group, breakfast the next morning was buffet style. Like all the hotels we stayed at, it was full Irish and delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Carol B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer feedback on the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when your next in Ireland

Regards

T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

A lovely hotel with very helpful staff. I left my swimsuit in the leisure club and it was posted on to me when it was found. The room and bed were very comfortable and food excellent. Fully recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Carolyn O,

Thank you for your kind comments, we really appreciate the feedback

We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre in the near future

Regards

T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co. kildare
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Three friends and I visited Sligo for the town's Bridge Congress but were too late to book in to the Radisson Blu where the event was being held. The Best Western is in a great location beside the train station and looks lovely from the outside so we decided to spend the weekend there. The decor of the large reception rooms is very hard on the eye - pattern and colour clashing gaily but homely nonetheless. The Reception staff were very efficient and obliging. We were given two twin rooms and myself and my friend drew the short straw with our room being small and dark with no view from window. However we were under pressure to eat and then play cards so we passed no comment. On our return the room was chilly but there was no way to adjust the temperature so I pulled out an extra blanket and bundled into bed in my socks and hoodie. Next morning I had a shower, the nozzle of which could not be adjusted, so it was like being sprayed by needles and the temperature was just above tepid; the bedroom was still cold; the TV (old style cube) didn't work and the cleaning staff left us with no towels. In fairness when we complained the staff moved us in to a new room straight away which was much better but even at that one has to question why we weren't given the better one when we first arrived. The hotel feels neglected, like there is no-one in charge who greatly cares about her - case in point, the stainless steel bins in the bathrooms still had their Dunnes Stores E8 stickers on them and the overhead light didn't work. Breakfast was fairly basic with tinned fruit rather than fresh and on our second morning one member of staff in particular, was clearing up around us as we ate despite it being only 10.40 (last time for breakfast at weekend being 10.30). We each paid E110 for 2 nights bed and breakfast which I feel was over the odds for a mediocre bedroom and standard breakfast. The hotel has seen better days and while it seemed clean it badly needs to be refurbished. I wont be rushing back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchburg, Kentucky
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel is right in town. You do have to climb up stairs to get to the lobby. The lobby and bar area is beautiful with wood trim and painted ceilings. The lift was very small, sign read it could hold 4 people but it was full with just me, my husband and our luggage. The room was on the small size, it had pretty wooden trim work. The bed was very nice with a down comforter and feather pillows. The bathroom was small. We stayed in room 308. We couldn't get the heat to work, it wasn't really cold but just felt cool. The wifi was suppose to work in the lobby but I didn't have any luck. I even asked the girl in the reception check in area about my settings. She connected it for me long enough to send out one email. When I went down to the lobby the next morning with nothing changed on my laptop, I was not even able to send an email. Couldn't get or stay connected. The young man at the dest said he had been having trouble himself. We ate in the bar. You must place your order at the bar then they will bring it to you. The bar area was very pretty, lots of wood, trim and fine details. It felt very old world. The food was just ok. The menu was lacking, or maybe I was just tired of eating "bar food". The staff done their jobs but none of them seemed real friendly, again maybe I was just tired. We went to the steam room, the hot tub was out of order. I would probably not stay here again. We did get a good nights sleep and the place was clean and charming but I feel it's getting a little worn down. Hot tub out of order and the wifi only available in the lobby area and then it's iffy was a breaking point for me. That was the only way I was able to contact my family back home and that was very important to me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Tyme4relaxing,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback, with regard to our complimentary wifi you have to log in each time, when you leave one area to go to another you have to re log in, and we are sorry if this wasn't explained properly.

With regard to the heating in your room, the heat can be controlled from the knob on the radiator, our reception automatically send somebody to check any room issues when a guest informs them

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and have taken all your comments on board

Regards

T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Co. Down
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Owners of this former ' Railway Hotel ' [ once known as the " Great Southern Hotel " ] have wisely, and carefully, retained much of its feeling of former grandeur - beautiful cornices, elaborate ceramic tiles in Bathroom and Toilets, etc. The decor, predominantly purple, with lounge chairs in matching fabrics, may appear rather dated, but in keeping with the overall ' feel ' of an elderly building. Overall, a sense of period charm, and a delightful ambience of spaciousness and reference to a more genteel past. One endearing feature was room doors still opened by keys, attached to large plastic fobs. Another feature which I particularly liked, and which is not often found in more modern hotels, was a clock in my bedroom, enabling me to keep track of time throughout the night. The room itself was of a good size, well equipped, and quiet.

The friendliness of all staff, from smiling Receptionists, to helpful Bar staff and friendly Restaurant waiters and waitresses all added to my feeling welcomed and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Geoff M,

Thank you for your kind comments, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted you enjoy our old world charm. We endeavour to offer a traditional feel in keeping with the age of the hotel (built in 1928) with the added benefit of modern day services.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre

Kindest regards
T.Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel

Address: Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel is a family owned and operated hotel that has been a major player in the hospitality business in Sligo for over 20 years. We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 98 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. Kick start your day with a hearty hot breakfast from the large breakfast buffet. We serve an appetising bar menu through out the day, from gourmet sandwiches and traditional Atlantic chowder to mouth-watering main courses all of which is very popular with locals, our Garden Room restaurant offers an extensive menu each evening using fresh produce sources from local suppliers. We also serve a variety of pastries, scones and finger sandwiches which can be enjoyed throughout the day beside an open fires in our lobbies The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. Sligo, home to the infamous poet and playwright WB Yeats offers a wide range of amenities from the 340 seat Hawks Well theatre which hosts a diverse programme of arts and entertainments to the 12 screen multiplex Gaiety Cinema. We have it all, riverside cafes, museums, art galleries, shopping centres and within a 5 mile radius you have a choice of beaches, links golf courses, woodland walks and scenery renowned internationally. For our active clientele there is a fitness trail freely available in Sligo Town. Follow the river to the entrance of Lough Gill and along the way avail of an outside gym and a woodland walk, all within walking distance of the hotel and Hazelwood Forest Walk is just 3 kilometres outside Sligo on the shores of Lough Gill, follow the nature trail, enjoy lake views, picnic areas and unique wooden sculptures. The BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre offer a variety of holidays to suit all tastes, activity breaks include surfing, stand up paddle boarding, golfing and walking to name but a few, theatre breaks, over 50's and family holidays are also on offer all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sligo Southern Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.