We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything that's important in an hotel done well and with tangible care and attention.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Everything that's important in an hotel done well and with tangible care and attention.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I tend to travel on business a fair bit and on those occasions the budget is basically unlimited - 5 star and Swiss 5 star aren't unusual. The downside of this is that I can become a bit used to this level of luxury - which in reality isn't necessary.
However if I am travelling personally within Ireland and won't be spending a long time each day in the hotel then this changes the dynamic and I tend to aim for mid-range hotels run by experienced hoteliers who know how to get the basics of a hotel right within a budget.
In the west of Ireland and Dublin city centre this invariably involves one of the McEniff family hotels.
Here you will get everything a reasonable traveller could need with experienced and professional staff, good homely food well-prepared, free parking and a well equipped leisure facility.
I had the pleasure of visiting the Sligo Southern earlier this week.
This is managed by one of the second generation of McEniff professional hoteliers.
I had a minor problem with noise on the first night (not the hotels fault but another inconsiderate guest).
The response from Katherine (manageress) was everything that I could have hoped for - an immediate apology and the delight of an upgrade for the next night.
The impression that this created has cemented my opinion of these hotels.
The default for me in these circumstances will be (as before) to only stay elsewhere if a McEniff group hotel isn't available.
Katherine - thanks again for your help and the delightful reminiscence/conversation that this evolved into.

Room Tip: Suites and family rooms are enormous. Suites have the extras that make your stay even more enjoyabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Iatros1

Thank you so much for your kind feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time and effort to review the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel and are delighted you enjoyed you stay.

Catherine and the rest of the staff look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Regards
T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    134
    109
    53
    51
See reviews for
57
200
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed here two nights recently and was pleasantly surprised as I had read reviews which were not very good . I will definitely visit this hotel again. The breakfast and dinner was very good. The room was adequate and clean. The hotel have a large area near reception which is just fabulous for relaxing with very comfortable settees and armchairs. The staff are extremely courteous, efficient and friendly. Well done to all. Many thanks.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear msfussie

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate your kind positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kindest regards

T. Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I don't enjoy writing a bad hotel review because it ends up reflecting badly on a great many hard-working people who were definitely NOT responsible for their hotel's failure. A classic example of this came last Friday night at the Best Western in Sligo. This was our last stop before heading home from a really wonderful break in Connemara. Our holidays take a lot of preparation these days, mainly because I have cancer. This means I can't do without sleep, and have to eat at regular intervals. Well, in this particular hotel, our best laid plans crashed in flames. We had specifically requested a quiet room, but found that the hotel had a huge wedding party booked in. This resulted in no restaurant service at all, a reduced menu available at the bar (but only after 7.30 pm), and - worst of all - incessant music, singing, shouting, doors banging from 10 pm till 4.30 the following morning. When I went down to Reception at 11.50 pm, I was assured the music would stop at midnight (or 15 minutes after at the latest). That was obviously untrue. When we complained in the morning the day receptionist was most apologetic, offered us a reduction in price, and said she would ask the Manager to follow this up by telephone. At time of writing 72 hours have elapsed, and we still haven't heard from the Manager. In almost 50 years of travelling, in 43 different countries, I have never had a worse hotel experience.

Room Tip: Try another hotel. It might be worth asking hotels to inform potential guests when there's going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear davisofmourne
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, our duty manager has been unsuccessful in contacting you via your telephone number. I would really appreciate if you could contact me directly at a time convenient to you to discuss your review
Kindest regards
Tara Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERRY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Had read reviews on this hotel and was a little apprenensive about trip. However we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is not marble and glass but it has a very warm,comfortable ambience with warm fires in the expansive foyer area. At reception we were warmly greeted and as we were early our bags were left in our room while we walked the small distance in to Sligo. We were allocated room 311 which was spacious with a large bathroom. We had a most comfortable bed in this quiet room. The breakfast was self service and of a very good quality{particularly the sausages!}. The prices in the bar were inexpensive - indeed the house bottle of wine was 13.50 and very drinkable. Staff at all times were most pleasant and helpful.. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the hotel. We are looking forward to an early return visit

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear TYRONE-7
Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre, we appreciate your kind comments as all our team of staff take pride in providing our guests with an enjoyable stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Kindest regards
T.Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The bed was very uncomfortable and the noise was unbearable. Stayed here for two nights on business so needed rest for meetings in the morning but didn't get any rest at all. Loud parties and music outside and people talking extremely loud outside our door at 5am. Had ear plugs in for second night and still woke with the noise. The room was dusty and dirty with a bed that was falling apart. Never again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Cungfu
We are very concerned to read your review and we are very sorry that your stay was so disappointing. I am surprised that you found the bed uncomfortable, and are looking into this matter. As the reviews are anonymous, we have no way of contacting you to discuss this further. If you would like to have an opportunity to speak with me in person about these matters, then I would be very pleased to hear from you at any time which may be convenient for you
Kindest regards
T.Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Avoid the rooms beside the lift , ideally it should be a broom cupboard, no running hot water in the shower in morning, is the reason I will not be back. Over priced for the quality. Food was excellent in the bar.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear AishlingMcAteer,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on the BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We did have problems with the water pressure on one day, due to our renovations on the first floor and we apoligise for this, but at no time was the water turned off.
If you would like to contact me directly to discuss your comments, I would be pleased to hear from you.
Kindest regards
T.Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights recently at this hotel which is conveniently situated within easy walking distance of the centre of Sligo. It is a large, imposing building, with an impressive entrance hall complete with marble fire places, open fires and comfortable sofas.The foyer leads on to an extensive lounge, again furnished with well grouped sofas and easy chairs. Our welcome by staff was warm and friendly and our room was well furnished. Our stay had been booked through Groupon and the price was exceptionally low so perhaps this is why we were accommodated towards the back of the hotel, in a room above the heated swimming pool. The temperature in our bedroom was therefore unfortunately always too high and uncomfortable.
Food in the restaurant was of an excellent standard and again staff could not have been more friendly.
We were particularly impressed with the help we received when, after a robbery from our car on a visit to Yeats' grave at Drumcliffe churchyard (Tourists beware!!), Management and staff went to no end of trouble to help us block up the shattered window of our car. We were most grateful to them and appreciated their expressions of concern and their practical help.
Our whole experience of staying in the Best Western Sligo was most enjoyable and we would recommend the hotel warmly. (though try to avoid being put in the rooms over the leisure centre).
Just one word of warning, though, for technology buffs. Wi fi is only available in the reception area and is so slow as to be practically useless. (between .08 and .25 Megabits). But don't let this put you off staying in what is a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the bedrooms above the leisure centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSligo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Cedor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciate you kind feedback. We are currently looking into the heating and adjusting the thermostats in the rooms over the leisure centre. We hope you got the incident your experienced at Drumcliffe resolved, as this is not a true reflection of Sligo, Sligo is a very tourist friendly county and we were appalled to hear what happened to you.

We are continuing to resolve the matter of the WiFi, we are currently renovating some rooms and this affected the WiFi. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Kindest regards
T Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel

Address: Strandhill Road | Sligo Town Centre, Sligo, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel is a family owned and operated hotel that has been a major player in the hospitality business in Sligo for over 20 years. We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 98 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. Kick start your day with a hearty hot breakfast from the large breakfast buffet. We serve an appetising bar menu through out the day, from gourmet sandwiches and traditional Atlantic chowder to mouth-watering main courses all of which is very popular with locals, our Garden Room restaurant offers an extensive menu each evening using fresh produce sources from local suppliers. We also serve a variety of pastries, scones and finger sandwiches which can be enjoyed throughout the day beside an open fires in our lobbies The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place. Sligo, home to the infamous poet and playwright WB Yeats offers a wide range of amenities from the 340 seat Hawks Well theatre which hosts a diverse programme of arts and entertainments to the 12 screen multiplex Gaiety Cinema. We have it all, riverside cafes, museums, art galleries, shopping centres and within a 5 mile radius you have a choice of beaches, links golf courses, woodland walks and scenery renowned internationally. For our active clientele there is a fitness trail freely available in Sligo Town. Follow the river to the entrance of Lough Gill and along the way avail of an outside gym and a woodland walk, all within walking distance of the hotel and Hazelwood Forest Walk is just 3 kilometres outside Sligo on the shores of Lough Gill, follow the nature trail, enjoy lake views, picnic areas and unique wooden sculptures. The BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel & Leisure Centre offer a variety of holidays to suit all tastes, activity breaks include surfing, stand up paddle boarding, golfing and walking to name but a few, theatre breaks, over 50's and family holidays are also on offer all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sligo Southern Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sligo Southern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.