We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Meal!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sligo Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sligo Park Hotel to your Saves list
Sligo Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pearse Road, Sligo, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a Meal!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We would have rated this hotel overall excellent, had it not been for the building. The Hotel is run down and in need of a good clean, specifically the Swimming Pool area. However, the staff are excellent and could not do enough for you. We have to give a special mention for the staff in the Hazelwood Restaurant, they do a super job managing seating and guests, which is a real challenge at breakfast time and they do so with a smile!!! The highlight of our two nights stay was the food and in particular our Al a Carte dinner in the Hazelwood restaurant. We had the Scallops and Double Baked Cheese Soufflé for starters, which were outstanding!!! I had the Lamb on a bed of Puy lentils and bacon and my husband had the Filet Steak, OMG AM MAZ ING!!!! For dessert we had the Lemon Cheese Cake for dessert and as with the other two courses, it was great, light, creamy and delicious. We have to admit we made a judgment on the hotel due to how run down it looked, and did not expect much from the Restaurant, but the meal we had on the Friday night of our stay is one of the best meals we have had. Oh, another piece of advice, don’t order a cocktail in the hotel bar. They will really try and go out of their way to make them, because you’ve asked, however the results are not pretty.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are delighted that you had such a positive experience of the food and staff. We are very sorry if you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay, all your comments have been noted and each will be addressed. Thank you for sharing this with other Trip Advisor members. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    241
    110
    47
    27
See reviews for
162
226
16
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed the weekend of the 5th April, 2014. Very pleasant, the food in the dining room very good.
The bar/restaurant/snackbar. Food quite good but unfortunately strong smell of fries which made sitting in the bar unpleasant. Breakfast timeline of 10 oclock on a Sunday is far too early.
Especially as guests stay out late on Saturday nights. The rooms were tired. The furniture chipped and need to be replaced and the beds made up so tightly you couldn't bring the blankets over your shoulders.
We enjoyed the weekend in the hotel, although there was a lot of activity going on, the staff were
overall very pleasant. The weekend was quite expensive for what it was, but we would actually return there.

Room Tip: Overlooking the gardens are pleasant and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your accommodation. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with hotel, staff and restaurant. We have noted all your comments and we will certainly take them on board. Thank you for sharing this with other Trip Advisor members. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west of ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I had a lovely family party in the Sligo Park Hotel. I can not find the words to describe how well we were treated, they pulled out all the stops to make it an eventful occasion. My family stayed over at the Hotel & were amazed at the comfort, courtesy & friendliness of all the staff. It is such a lovely friendly homely & yet fantastic place. We have done a lot of travelling & would find it hard to equal this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your recent Golden Wedding Anniversary Celebration. Warmest congratulations to you both on this significant anniversary. We are delighted to read of your satisfaction with your with your stay. Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Sligo Park for the weekend while down visiting family. Yet again the hotel excelled itself. Staff were friendly, room clean. Only downfall was that our tea, milk etc wasnt replenished! Apart from that minor flaw we had a fabulous stay! Wouldnt consider staying in any other hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your recent trip to visit family in Sligo. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay. We have noted all your comments. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed here with 19 girls for my hen party, every person we met in the hotel were lovely. Very accommodating, meal on sat nite was gorgeous. Rooms were very nice and clean. Would defently come and stay again in the future! Thanks again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your recent stay at Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your hen party. We are delighted that you had such a positive experience of the hotel, staff and food. Thank you for sharing this with other Trip Advisor members. Best wishes for your wedding. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed on the 28th of march to the 30th an from beginning 2 end it was first clasd. Staff are brilliant an the food is the best ive tasted in a long time. Rooms are brilliant. All in all a first class hotel to stay in when in sligo

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club for your recent visit to Sligo. We are delighted to read of your satisfaction with your recent stay at the Sligo Park Hotel. Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

As a group of 50 plus, who had a wonderful weekend here. From our arrival to the departure, the staff were most pleasant and helpful. The rooms were bright and clean, and the food was very good. A special word of thanks to Margaret in reservations , who was most helpful. Well done to all, and hope to return very soon. The hotel was very, very busy, a lovely sigh, what with all the negative talk.

Room Tip: A room with a view would be nice if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette_Coffey, Director of Sales at Sligo Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your recent group stay at Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club. We are delighted that you had such a positive experience of the hotel. Thank you for sharing this with other Trip Advisor members. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Bernadette Coffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sligo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligo Park Hotel

Address: Pearse Road, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sligo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the four star Sligo Park Hotel and Leisure Club, a contemporary styled hotel in lush landscaped parkland, one mile from the vibrant town of Sligo. Each bright, modern room is designed with guest comfort in mind. The bar and restaurant serve the best of local ingredients in a relaxed setting popular with locals and guests. There is a superb health and leisure club and complimentary WiFi for guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sligo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park Sligo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sligo Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.