We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Austies Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Austies Restaurant
Rosses Point, Sligo N1, Ireland
+353 719177111
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 88 Restaurants in Sligo
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food and music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Went here instead of eating the awful food at the Yeats Country. Was generally very good with live music on one night.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    11
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cavan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Really good food, great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We ate here over the August bank holiday weekend. The service is excellent, very friendly staff. We sat outside and ordered our food but then it got cold so we went inside. There was no problem reseating us. Our food was really good. We had garlic mushrooms as starter (they were to die for). We also had fish & chips / lamb stew / kid meal (massive portion). Our main courses were really good. We will be going back to this restaurant again, without doubt.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Won't rush back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Many people have recommended Austies to me in the past, raving that their steak was to die for.

Myself and my boyfriend had dinner their recently and we weren't really that impressed.
We found the wait staff to be very friendly however, when trying to make a reservation, we have to make numerous attempted phone calls before someone would even answer the phone? My boyfriend had their steak and I had breaded scampi but neither of us were that impressed?

The presentation of food was bad, the steak only had a few onions rings on the plate, chips had to be ordered separately and there was no veg? The steak was also not prepared to his liking. My scampi was presented more like chicken nuggets and chips? Found it to be kind of greasy and lacking in flavour.
Also, this restaurant does not accept any visa or credit cards! This is a huge disadvantage and inconvenience for customers as there is no ATM in Rosses Point whatsoever! There is also no adequate sign to inform customers that cards are not accepted!! We had to go out of our way to the nearest ATM and comeback to pay for our meal! I won't be back any time soon and would be far more likely to recommend other restaurants to friends, family or tourists.
Not impressed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAVAN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“THIS IS A MUST IN SLIGO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is an old style traditional irish bar with wonderful atmosphere, the staff are FANTASTIC, friendly , cheerful and makes you feel well at home. The locals soon get you feeling relaxed here in this little bar , with great music, great service and mighty pints. There is also a restaurant here which gets the thumbs up all the time. I would like to send warmest of good wishes to all in this bar and on a personal note thank them for making our few days so enjoyable. I look forward to being back really soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fawlty towers.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Fawlty towers. We were a party of 9 and a mix of adults and children. Waited two hours for food and practically every order was wrong, food nice when it came. Don't take laser or credit card and no ATM for miles, get your act together people

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austies Restaurant also viewed

 
Rosses Point, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to Austies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austies Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.