We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hargadon Bros

Hargadon Bros
4 O'Connell Street, Sligo, Ireland
71 915 3709
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 79 Restaurants in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Leitrim, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is s lovely old world pub. The bar staff are friendly and efficient and they have an award winning menu. This pub is also very popular with the Lunch crowd, so maybe take this into consideration when planning the time of your visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    96
    18
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Come on in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

My family was looking for dinner and a pint when we ran across Hargadon's. The bar was packed with World Cup fans and we thought that we would move on, but the locals waved us in and directed us to the dining room. The food was very good, service great, and the pints well poured. Irish hospitality at its best!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good food, good guinness , good time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

i have been going into this pub for over 40 years. never had a bad pint or bad meal . the staff go out of their way to please you. what more can i say ? see you soon guys and gals.

foggy from huddersfield

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Food was great, service very slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

So perhaps it was an off night. We dropped in without realizing this was a legendary old pub in Sligo. I loved the front bar with the 'snug' right up front. But we had to wander on our own to figure out where to sit for a meal. We went all down the hall with booths on the side and ended up in the back room, where one couple was seated. We opted for the booth, it had high walls and was all wood. Also a cool little lamp on the wall.

Many servers went up and down the hall...repeatedly. It appears that most servers must be from the area University, all were young. Finally we were noticed and got a menu. Then after a while, our drink order was taken, by that time we also included our meal order.

The food was really quite good. Mine was a burger - I gave in because it was locally sourced - and hubby had chicken linguine. The burger was really good, tasted beefy and definitely was a generous portion. The linguine was good, although it was like noodles were tossed with an alfredo-like sauce and some chicken stirred in. All the parts were good, but it never really 'came together.' The Guiness needed a visit from the 'perfect pour' trainers but was good as always. I had a Francisan Well stout - this is a new brewery in Cork. So, was dinner good? Yes.

And now, let's talk banoffee pie. It took a while to get there, which helped settle the dinner so we didn't mind. We split a piece and once we tasted it, we each wished we'd had room for our own slice. It was finger-lickin' good! In fact, if I could have licked the plate I would have. Seriously good.

Again, it took a while to get our check and pay. At first I spent the time reading the walls as there were lots of historical pictures, old invoices from Guinness and other such interesting things. Then I just went and found someone and asked for it. I think we wouldn't have minded the slow service except the waiters kept passing us by and they went back and forth up and down the hall by us...and not carrying drinks or food. It's not like we were off in a corner somewhere in the back. The whole thing was a puzzlement.

I hope others don't have the service issues - when the staff were there, they were very polite and informative. The food is good, is not quite at the 'foodie' status they crave, but it is mostly locally sourced and very fresh. I would eat there again and hope the staff didn't forget me. (-:

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“true spirit of Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

great food; incredible banofee pie to die for; they take care of you; loved it! Waiters were quick, Guinness was the finest what more could you ask for!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hargadon Bros also viewed

Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to Hargadon Bros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hargadon Bros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.