We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House that Eamainn Built” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teach Eamainn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sligo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Teach Eamainn
Save
You added Teach Eamainn to your Saves list
Hazelwood, Sligo, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Sligo B&B and Inns
Saint James City, Florida
1 review
“House that Eamainn Built”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The name of this B&B means "the house that Eamainn built". Staying with Evelyn and her son, Declan, was like visiting our Irish cousins. We were met with a nice pot of tea and lovely biscuits to munch on. Beds and ensuite rooms were so comfortable. The sunroom and other public rooms were welcoming. Breakfast was outstanding. Our every need was met. Location near Sligo Town is a big plus. But quiet country surroundings. Highly recommended by my friends and me.

Room Tip: The four of us shared two rooms. Both were outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    14
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
27
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encino, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Evelyn greeted us with tea and biscuits with jam in the sitting room and made sure that the rest of our stay overnight was equally very comfortable. The home is not a "purpose-built" B&B but a home with real upholstered personal furniture in which to relax. The breakfast is excellent; the eggs come from a local farmer and have never seen the inside of a store or container. All food is home made and her son runs the kitchen with very tasty and plentiful choices. With friends, we took two rooms and both were adequate with good beds, nice drawer storage and small bathrooms. Everything was spotless. The location is on a rural road about 10 minute drive from Sligo and near Lough GIll and Parkes Castle, and across from cows and sheep which you can see from the windows. A very good value!

Room Tip: I liked the room with a view of the fields with cows and sheep. Made for a very restful environment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. We had a very warm welcome and we had lovely chats with the owner. Really lovely woman who likes to help her guests. Our rooms were excellent as well. Big, good beds for a nice sleep. It also was en suite, so we had our own sanitair, which was very handy. There was also a nice livingroom, really cosy. The view was really beautiful too.

Kind regards,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludvika, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Back in Sweden again after a wonderful stay in Sligo at Teach Eamonn at Calry road. We have been taken care of by Evelyn in all the best way. Excellent breakfast, kindness and this fantastic room on the second floor with that fantastic view, where we were relaxing and drank coffee with home made fruit cake.
We have nothing to complain about, everything was just perfect. Hope to return some day. Thanks to mrs McPartland and her son for this time.
Lena and Roger

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

While touring Ireland recently we stayed in many B&Bs which, while lovely, were interchangeable really. Teach Eamainn was a welcome respite- it had real character, more like the B&Bs of old where you were part of someone's household. Evelyn offered us scones and tea on our arrival- very welcome after a long day's drive. The room had a great view, was comfortable and clean and there was a tearoom nearby if needed. Nice breakfast, served very elegantly - a step back in time, amongst curios, antiques and extensive collection of china crockery sets. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is the worst accommodation I have ever staying in. The owner of the house was extremly rude and even tried to overcharge us. The rooms are very dated and dirty. Stay anywhere else but here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teach_Eamainn, Owner at Teach Eamainn, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your comment and I would like the opportunity to respond. We feel it is only fair to set the record straight for other guests. We are extremely concerned at your comments regarding your stay at Teach Eamainn as we pride ourselves on our level of cleanliness etc. The Décor of the house is very vibrant and indeed, some of the modern colours may not suit all tastes. I only wish that if you felt so strongly about the experience you had at our B&B the night before that you would have mentioned it on arrival or at check out so that we could have taken the opportunity to discuss your issues. We do take all our guest feedback very seriously and like to deal with comments immediately.

I am glad to say that no guest has ever accused me of overcharging, of being rude etc. I personally show guests their room and at that point we would have appreciated your feedback. With regard to the issue of overcharging, at Teach Eamainn we would never overcharge guest and much of our business comes from vouchers where no money exchanges hands. I would like the opportunity to discuss your experience directly at your convenience. Perhaps if you could contact me, we could resolve any issues. Thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,
Teach Eamainn, Evelyn McPartland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

With so many new, sterile, purpose built B&B's all over the country lacking in true charm, this was a gem! The view from our window was spectacular and the short drive from the center of town gave us the opportunity to have a quiet nights' sleep. A second floor "tea room" that was self serve had comfortable seating and allowed us to visit with other guests. The dining room was inviting and offered group seating but there are other tables if you choose to eat alone. Decland offered suggestions for scenic drives as well as serving a lovely breakfast. The extensive collection of family heirloom china gives this home true character in an ever changing "modernized" Ireland.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with friends, we had the room with three single beds. Reminiscent of a girls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Teach Eamainn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teach Eamainn

Address: Hazelwood, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Sligo
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teach Eamainn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.