We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Primrose Grange House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sligo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Primrose Grange House
Save
You added Primrose Grange House to your Saves list
Knocknarea | Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 Sligo B&B and Inns
English Lake District
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Holiday Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

This is the spot for a holiday in the Sligo region.Freddie is a superb host who gave the three of us a true hospitable irish welcome and is full of tips on getting the best out of your visit. The Wing is spacious, well equiped with just the best of views. Look no further for great value and a special stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Just back from spendng a couple of days in the beautiful Primrose Grange House. The house is beautiful, warm, very spacious and comfortable. We arrived on a sunny summer afternoon, had a bbq in the garden with stunning views. Fred and Saoirse (the owners) had thought of everything to make a stay in their house very enjoyable. The location is ideal for all the amenities in Strandhill and Sligo. Our group ranged in ages from 6 to 75 and we all had a ball - we will be back !!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

5 of us spent three nights at Primrose Grange House in June. We had our 19 year old daughter and our 12 year old son with us as well as our daughter's 18 year old boyfriend. We all agreed that it was our favorite out of the 4 places we stayed in Ireland.

The location is amazing with great views. We enjoyed the hike up Knocknarea and our visit to the Glen.

Freddie had good restaurant suggestions for Sligo and Strandhill. We liked both towns. The seaweed baths in Strandhill were fun.

The house itself is great for a group and we liked having a kitchen and living room.

We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

This was a great place to stay!! the views were great and the owner when way out of his way to make sure we had what we needed!! thank you for a great time. The house has doors on all rooms that was great we had a house full. 2 on the pull out sofa in the living room and 2 and a 2 year old in the room with one bed and 3 adults in the other room with two beds one is just a twin in this room. one bathroom but did not have a problem even with as many people. well stocked kitchen with washer dryer combo. geat place to have some great R&R. town just a short drive. would go stay here again!! great price for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Primrose Grange. The location is superb and scenery breathtaking.
The accommodation is beautiful with plenty of space and comfort.
We'll definitely visit again. Thanks to Fred our host for a wonderful welcome and help organising a great visit to InnisMurray. Thank you..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We loved Primrose Grange! On arrival, the very helpful and super friendly Fred welcomed us by answering all of our questions before we got a chance to ask them! From the moment we entered the front door each one of us (group of six friends) fell in love. I originally booked the house based on the website picture of the sitting room - turns out its even better in real life! The house is equipped with everything you could need, down to milk, butter and a fantastic welcome treat of free range eggs! Beds are super comfy, bathroom is spotless, kitchen well equipped, and sitting room very relaxing. In addition to all this, you have a lovely garden with wonderful views.
Really, our weekend was a disaster from start to finish.. a surfing weekend with no waves, rain during our bbq, a taxi door/broken finger incident, a dancefloor/elbow in the face incident and Lissadell house closed to the public...yet everyone came away having had an excellent weekend just because we all fell in love with our lovely house and of course lovely Sligo! Nothings gonna get you down when you're staying in Primrose Grange. Only thing is, we'll have to return again. I can't recommend Primrose Grange highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We were blessed with glorious weather for our stay at Primrose Grange House. We took advantage of the pretty garden and had breakfast there every day. The garden has breathtaking views over rolling fields and tranquil water. In the early mornings a low fog rolled up - which we saw most days because our baby son is a very early riser. The apartment was spacious and having two bedrooms enabled us to entertain friends and family. The location is peaceful and only a short drive from the stunning beach at Strandhill or the pretty lakes on the outskirts of town where I managed a few runs. Freddie the owner could not have been more helpful, he was on hand with great recommendations and tips and he even brought us fresh eggs from his hens. One of his fishing trips yielded a few lobsters which he also generously shared with us ! We relaxed fully - so much so that we totally lost track of what day of the week it was and almost forgot to leave.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Primrose Grange House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Grange House

Address: Knocknarea | Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Sligo
Number of rooms: 17

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primrose Grange House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.