We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yeats Village gets top marks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yeats Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Yeats Village to your Saves list
Yeats Village
Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sligo
Co Fermanagh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yeats Village gets top marks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I would really recommend this accommodation to anyone. But be mindful it is not a luxury hotel but definitely value for money. We were a group of single female friends and found it to be very clean and more than adequate for our needs. We had a 3 room appt and each room was en-suite which was great.

Only down points were that we had to drive around the development a bit to find the front door as it was on the side of the building and not clearly numbered and one of the showers was faulty. But apart from that I would definitely stay again. I had to change the booking last minute due to changes in the number coming and the staff were more than accommodating and really friendly.

Top marks all round

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here in Aug 2012 we had 2 apartments which we got on a deal. After a slight hiccup at reception the staff were very good, pleasant and helpful.
The apartments are spacious and all rooms are en-suite which is a plus but some of the en-suites were on small size.
The furniture is "well used" badly stained as are the carpet tiles which in our apartment were disgusting dirty..
The draw back is location, the village is a 10 min drive out of city centre where you have to go to get anything!
There was some noise issues but credit to the village staff they dealt with it speedily!
Overall for what we paid it was ok, but could not justify the full price!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The apartments as such are basic and are used during the academic year to house students. The rooms are rather noisy due to the thin inner walls and very loud water pumps that kick in when someone else in the apartment/building takes a shower (most rooms have ensuite bathrooms).

My daughter stayed in one of the apartments for nearly a whole year and I agree with previous reviewer Richie when it comes to the rudeness and inefficiency of the management.

From the start there was an issue which kept going for several months when one of the other students kept having her boyfriend in the apartment all the time (night and day), supposedly because the latter didn't have a room of his own. The management did nothing until one of the other students was so fed up about this that she was prepared to move to another apartment from a different agency.

Apartments had to be payed in full for several months in advance, but when it came to getting back the deposit it was the opposite: after more than two months there's still no sign of it. Enquiries are answered with the lamest excuses and promises: you'll get it at the beginning of June, we'll look into it, there was a problem with the Irish banks, you'll get it next week... or not at all.

If you plan to let your daughter or son study in Sligo I would suggest that you have a look at the other options before you part with your money (be warned: The Village Clarion Road is apparently managed by the same people from Albanne Property Management).

We stayed there for a few days when we picked up our daughter, and while the apartment served its purpose, next time we will definitely stay in one of the hotels in Mullaghmore as that is in a much nicer location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Maryland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I have been staying in hotels/hostels all my life, either through work or leisure and I have to admit staying at the Yeats Village was my WORST TIME EVER.. Manger was the second rudest person I have had the pleasure to speak to, only topped off by the receptionist. I cannot fault the rooms, but the obnoxious manner the staff treated by girlfriend and I was fully uncalled for!

So, take my advise, do not risk subjecting your selfs to this nonsense of a business and find another place who appreciate your business and money

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

My wife and I recently spent a fortnight travelling around Ireland. Our only complaint we had here was with the one flat pillow each we had.Otherwise everything was great. A qiet sot away from busy roads.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

This is my second visit to Yeats Village.. I have been there last year as well as part of a large conference. Over 1000 people this year. I found Yeats very comfortable and welcoming. The apartments are very good and did give value for money. Altough it rained for a lot of the time, when it was dry and we had free time there was pleanty of room for the children to get out and play. Lots of open space. The staff in the office handeled any problems with speed and where possible they were able to meet any special requests. It is a great location to tour around. Coming from Cork right down south it was nice to be able to relax and enjoy a warm welcome and get to see a different side of Ireland. It is a great place and we are going back there for the 2010 conference in July.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

Sligo itself was friendly and had a lot of things to do. Yeats Village was a great place to stay for a self-catering house in a good size town. Everyone had their own room. There was three bathrooms for the 5 bedrooms. One bedroom had two beds but the rest was singles. These were college apartments so there wear desks and individual closets in each room. The only negative that I had was that the beds were dorm-style twin beds, but you should expect that from a college apartments. The staff was helpful and nice. The area was clean and well-maintained. It is a gated area that is close to all roads that leave out of town. Downtown was a short drive and a convenience store was right down the road. It had a nice living area and kitchen. For 5 or 6 people to stay a week, it was only 560 euros (about $700).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yeats Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeats Village

Address: Ballinode, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Yeats Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yeats Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.