We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food let down by very poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fiddlers Creek

Fiddlers Creek
Rockwood Parade, Sligo, Ireland
011-353-71-914-1866
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 88 Restaurants in Sligo
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Monaghan
1 review
“Great food let down by very poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I went to the Fiddlers with my wife for an Anniversary meal. First impressions were good, with an informal interior and the promise of good, old-fashioned unfussy service, as our waitress casually handed us two menus, before showing us to a table.
Orders were taken and the wine lists (two, curiously) were brought on request. And then we waited. And we waited some more. Much more in fact. The place wasn’t particularly busy. Serving staff congregated at the bar on occasions, engaging in banter, to where my wife eventually proceeded to inform them of her order. She was greeted with certain indifference but the wine duly arrived.
The food was efficiently served and we were asked if it was OK, which it was. It was excellent. Plates were cleared and the desert menu supplied, this time by a different server. But again the waiting. And again the banter at the bar. Things were pretty quiet now but we had no further engagement from the staff. I got eye contact on two occasions with the server who brought the desert menus but her reaction was consistent with her believing or just discovering she was being stared at.
Eventually we approached the bar and asked for the bill. It was after 10.00 and activity inside suggested the place was being wound down for the night. We paid the exact amount on the bill and left. I don’t recall us ever doing that before. It’s a shame that such sterling work in the kitchen can be let down in this manner. Poor show.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    33
    19
    10
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
“Best Food in Sligo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

When Eating in Sligo town there are not many places to eat, but a walk down rockwood parade you ll find a lovely place Called Fiddlers Creek. Anytime we go in we are not disappointed... The food is always tasty and they change the early bird and eve menu all the time. The lunch menu is great too and they have wide range of yummy dishes esp Steak sandwich and Fiddlers Club sambo. Great place.....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a evening meal tonight with my husband .The Louisiana fillet steak is definitely the best steak I've ever eaten , melt in your mouth . Service was excellent and very attentive even though the place was packed. Music in the bar was brilliant and we had a very enjoyable night .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good music, Terrible, Overpriced Food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great live music at night but during the day the food we had was poor. Stay away from the goujons and the burger.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great venue for a family party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked this restaurant because of a combination of a family re-union and a few significant birthdays- approximately 20 people. We had a nice large table overlooking the river and a choice of a la carte or set menu. Service was excellent and friendly and the food while not gourmet was great with plenty of choices and generous portions. The birthday cake was presented with great bling sparklers and lots of laughter.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiddlers Creek also viewed

Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 
Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to Fiddlers Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiddlers Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.