We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coolshanagh, Monaghan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Belfast
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed at the 4 seasons again to go the dance on Sunday night. As usual the staff were lovely, helpful and friendly. There was live music in the bar and the rooms were clean and had everything I needed. The wi-fi was much improved from last time. The bed linen was fresh white and the beds are very comfortable. However, once again the catering department let it down. The bar food was good but breakfast was stated as available up to 11 am. We (4 of us) arrived at 10.30 am. and the fruit juices and cereals etc were cleared away. The waitress brought us what we asked for, including a cooked breakfast but it made us feel that we were late, even though we weren't.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4SeasonsMonaghan, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for a lovely review. Thank you for mentioning that the staff were lovely, helpful and friendly. They will be delighted to read this. Yes we have upgraded our wi-fi, we are delighted you were pleased with this.

We hope you will visit again soon.

Thank you again.

Best wishes,

Majella

Majella Toner
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    46
    31
    27
    19
See reviews for
39
63
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lanark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were very pleased with the situation of this hotel which has excellent leisure facilities Staff who could not have been more helpful and pleasant and a great choice of well cooked and nicely presented food.
It was ideally situated for tours to both Belfast and Dublin and although due to illness I was unable to take the trip on our second day. We spent the morning relaxing at the hotel then taking the short trip into Monaghan itself,. a very pleasant small town.
Although there was a wedding on one of the evenings and we awoke with a noise in the corridor it did not last long and we were able to drop off again. Very nice large airy room with hospitality tray filled daily.
We found this provided excellent value for money and would return at another time driving ourself and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We were in room 212 which was well away from the nightclub and I am sure the receptionist would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Ali and Joan,

Thank you for such a wonderful review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for highlighting that our staff are very friendly and helpful and that the food is well presented and delicious.
We are delighted you were happy with our location and yes the hotel is ideally located for tours to Belfast and Dublin.

It was a pleasure having your group stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Best wishes,

Majella

Majella Toner
Sales and Marketing Manager
Four Seasons Hotel & Leisure Club Monaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

A beautiful hotel in well kept grounds. The hotel looks great, the leisure centre has fantastic facilities complimented by the helpful staff. Very close to town and all amentities, it was a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Mags D,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you took the time to write such a lovely review. Yes the leisure club really is fantastic and the hotel and grounds are beautiful. I have passed your comments to our General Manager and Leisure Club Manager and team and they are delighted.

Yes our location is ideal, on the outskirts of Monaghan town. The team are delighted with your comments and again we thank you for such a kind review.

Hopefully we will welcome you back to the Four Seasons Hotel Monaghan again very soon,

Best wishes,

Majella

Majella Toner

Sales & Marketing Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Monaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Overall very good stay until breakfast the next morning when the lady had a very bad attitude. Everything seemed to be a problem. From getting a jug of water or fresh toast that wasnt cold when the breakfast came out. they had breakfast away before 10.30 when another family arrived down and they didn't avail of the bteakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear ViHoliday,

Thank you for your very kind review, we are delighted you were so happy with your stay. Thank you for your feedback on your breakfast, we will ensure this is rectified. We thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We hope to welcome you back to the Four Seasons Hotel Monaghan again very soon.

Best wishes,

Majella


Majella Toner
Sales and Marketing Manager
Four Seasons Hotel & Leisure Club Monaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Firstly this hotel has a nightclub attached which opens at midnight so if you like people shouting all night and noise then this is the place for you. Also when we stayed was a wedding function with loud music and shouting and singing until 3am which made it impossible to sleep. Rooms are very dated and musty with mouldy bathrooms. Not a good experience, save your money and book elsewhere unless you wanna party all night long whether you want to or not.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Mellor197,

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to give feedback.

We are disappointed to read that you were unhappy with your stay. The night club is only open on selected dates throughout the year and is not open on a weekly basis, however we sincerely apologise that this kept you awake.

If you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact the hotel and ask to speak to the General Manager who will be delighted to discuss this with you.

Again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Majella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I recently stayed at the Four Seasons in Monaghan for an event. The event itself was run very well, the service was prompt and friendly and the food tasty and plentiful. It was the condition of the common areas and particularly the accommodation that I was really unhappy about. The room which I was allocated was dingy at best, stained carpet, dirty windows, dusty lamps, stained signage and scorch marks on the bedsheets. I attempted to plug one of the lamps in the room in only to find that it had no plug. I found a used nail file in dusty and worn-looking Guest Information booklet. I have included pictures of the above with this review. The worst part was unfortunately the terrible smell in the room, akin to smelly feet; I can only imagine when the carpet was last cleaned. We had to leave the windows open as a result, something I wasn't particularly happy about as the room was on the ground floor and so my belongings were particularly vulnerable. The room rate was €130, a price I would consider very high for the poor quality of the accommodation. I noticed worn and grubby carpets in the common areas along with a layer of dust on many of the decorations around the hotel. I certainly wouldn't stay here again and I would advise anyone against staying. They have a captive market for their events and it would seem that as a result they feel the effort does not have to go into keeping the place clean.

Room Tip: Avoid staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear CQA9813,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed the event you attended and that you felt it was run well and that you were happy with the food and service.

However we are disappointed to receive your other comments and we have already addressed many of the areas you mentioned with our house-keeping and maintenance departments. We thank you for bringing these to our attention. If you wish to discuss this matter further please contact our hotel and ask to speak to the General Manager. Thank you again for your review.

Best wishes,

Majella

Majella Toner
Sales and Marketing Manager
PH: 00353 4781888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Was at a family wedding recently at the four seasons , have to say food was very good , steak on the menu was cooked perfectly ! They took temperatures on how you would like the steak cooked also , the arrival reception with tea and scones were fantastic , and having tea served in the fancy tea bone china was a nice treat !
As I'm in the food business myself I would highly recommend this hotel for food , although the hotel is a bit dated nevertheless it has a certain charm! Keep up the good work chef!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback.

It is always so nice to receive a great review. We are delighted you were so pleased with the quality of food. Yes the Vintage Chic reception on arrival is very popular and we agree, the china makes a cup of tea a little more special!!

Thank you most sincerely for saying you would recommend this hotel for food , our Head Chef and team will be delighted.

We hope you will visit again soon.

Best wishes,

Majella

Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club

Address: Coolshanagh, Monaghan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel And Leisure Club
Four Seasons Monaghan
Monaghan Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.