We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coolshanagh, Monaghan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Meath
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Staff were excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Was here for a wedding & have to say food was really good, very tasty but the main thing was the young staff in the place. They were amazing. They really couldn't do enough for you. They obviously enjoy their work. Rooms weren't great but as we weren't in them for very long that didn't really matter plus for the price they were satisfactory. Didn't have breakfast but from listening to friends it sounded really good. Had lunch the following day (carvery) & that was really nice too. I can see why this place has won awards for weddings. So overall good experience which was made all the better by the wonderful staff who went out of their way to help us enjoy our night. Thank you all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Sales and Marketing Manager at Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi EKW77,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We are delighted you were so happy with the Four Seasons Hotel Monaghan and our team.

We thank you for complementing your delicious meal and carvery lunch the next day. I will ensure to pass on to the team your lovely comments about how impressed you were with them. They will be delighted.

Thank you again for some a kind review. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Majella

Sales and Marketing Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Monaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    46
    31
    27
    19
See reviews for
39
63
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

For the second year Our Group of 21 went for full 4 course meal, meal was very good however when we settled account and being a Community Group we had to pay by cheque only 10% exchange rate was given on the Euro this meant that the Group lost approxamtely £40 Also most Hotels would allow the Coach driver to go free not the case at 4 Seasons
Needless to say we will not be returning to The 4 Seasons Hotel in Monaghan

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Would not recommend this hotel. Very very disappointed and would never stay there again. Maybe if we got to experience the hotel's restaurant 'Avenue' we might have a different opinion, but the restaurant only opens one evening a week. The room and receptionist's lack of interest in her job were the 2 biggest let downs of the hotel. We could have forgotten about the disgraceful furnishings and run down, smelly hallways if the room was slightly less of a joke however this was not to be. The room was dated, the sheets were off-colour and the Tv was older than me. Bathroom was of standard but the shower head fell off. Double bed was tiny and the carpet was scruffy. Cobwebs hanging from the ceiling. All furnishings and decor looked like they should have been changed yrs ago. There was no one at reception when we arrived and when they did appear, we felt we were pulling them away from whatever activity/conversation she was partaking in the room just off reception. Not friendly and not helpful when asked questions. Hotel was a disgraceful degrade to the Four Seasons brand and it needs a complete make over from staff to decor or it will go out of business. The name should definitely be changed and breakfast was not all it was made out to be in the other reviews. Scrambled egg was dry and I couldn't eat it, sausages were awful and the cereal and juices did not look inviting. Bad from start to finish.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

My stay here was pleasant enough.

My room was dated and in need of a deep clean. However, there is free wifi throughout the hotel and the staff are excellent.

Breakfast was good and included in the room rate.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in November for 2 nights. Rooms were average but clean. Was surprised by how nice the leisure centre was. Lovely outdoor hottub. Really top class breakfast and great service. Friendly staff and a good location. We were only going to Monaghan to go to the rally school nearby and this was perfect place for a casual stay. Wouldnt reccomebd if your looking for luxury but overall a nice hotel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Sales and Marketing Manager at Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hi Louise,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the leisure club and hot tub. Monaghan Rally school is very popular and very enjoyable for all ages.

I will ensure to pass on to the team your kind comments regarding the leisure club, breakfast and the friendly service you experienced.

We hope you will visit the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Majella

Majella Toner
Sales and Marketing Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Monaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Nice, clean comfortable room. Though I would have preferred to have a bath there. It had just a shower.
Restaurant was good, but my room was very far from the lobby and the hotel's wifi didn't reach that far. Had to walk up to the bar to get wifi.

Good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Attended a wedding here. Food was okay. Chicken very dry. Staff were courteous. Seemed that there may have been a shortage in bar staff as often ling waits to get served.
We stayed in a suite but only had to pay normal price. Wouldnt have liked to pay anymore.
Breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club

Address: Coolshanagh, Monaghan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel And Leisure Club
Four Seasons Monaghan
Monaghan Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.