We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice wedding venue.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa to your Saves list
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice wedding venue.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I was invited to a wedding in the Hillgrove hotel and was very impressed overall. The location is beautiful, as is the decor. Everything is very modern and clean. I did not stay over so I cant comment on the rooms but if they are anything like their function rooms/ reception area then im sure they would be great. When we initially arrived we spent time in the bar which had nice unique furniture and staff were friendly. When the function room was ready and dinner was served I was pleased to see how professional the waiting staff were. Everything arrived and was cleaned promptly. We had two starters which were delicious. My only complaint is that the main course portions are so small! Two pieces of meat accompanied by two scoops of mash and one spoon of vegetables, I honestly dont understand how they could expect this to fill anyone. The gravy also was very watery and didnt taste like gravy at all! That is my only complaint and apart from that everything else was perfect. From reading previous reviews I have noticed that management become quite defensive when they receive any criticism so with all respect please realise this is constructive criticism and not intended to offend! The hotel is excellent apart from this and I had a very enjoyable evening here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    171
    56
    33
    25
See reviews for
239
245
20
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was on a hen party here at the wekend and we had a great stay , we have a lovely dinner at the hotel while attending the murder mystery night. The rooms were lovely, very clean and spacious, The Food was lovely and everyone on the hen party really enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mazoct1979
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that your hen party went so well and you enjoyed both the food and murder mystery entertainment as part of your weekend. We hope that you have many more reasons to visit the Hillgrove Hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Sharon Mcmahon
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had an overnight stay on 19th July 2014.
We found the staff very pleasant and informative, the leisure complex was superb and spotless. We had a very spacious and modern bedroom.
Both the restaurant and food was excellent,
We look forward to a return stay at this hotel and can recommend it to anyone.

Tommy & Jennifer

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Quick friendly check in. Allocated a ground floor room but asked to be changed, Ciara changed us immediately to a room on the 4th floor which was lovely and spacious and very pleasant indeed. It afforded us a very comfortable nights sleep. Service in the bar was very prompt and staff are very very friendly and accommodating. Food was lovely. Had my hair up styled in the on site hairdressers, would highly rrecommend them...attended a wedding later in the day and it was a great occasion. Service/food excellent.

Overall a lovely Hotel and a credit to the Tourism industry in Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband and 2 kids (aged 3 and 6). Arrived at 1.30 as our email confirmation said check in was at 2pm. Told abruptly that check out was at 3pm on arrival. Spent 2 hours in foyer with 2 restless children before our room was ready at 3.30pm!! Only when checking in then were we told we could've used hotel facilities while waiting!

Our family room was spacious but basic - not modern décor as shown online. Our room was too hot, no air con and so 2 restless nights sleep, windows only open a fraction. We did get a fan from reception but still made no difference! Bring own hairdryer as the ones provided are prehistoric and take hours to dry hair unless you have homer simpson hair style!!!

Swimming pool average size but does have 2 good kiddie pools.

Even though the hotel was fully booked only the bar bistro was open and not the other hotel restaurant so we only had choice of pub food if staying at hotel which was ok but nothing special.

Kids room only vending machines with poker table. Didnt use kids club.

Overall quite disappointed with our trip and not what expected for 4 star hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Amy D
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hillgrove Hotel Leisure & Spa. I am sorry that you were not quite satisfied with your trip. To go through your points: I am sorry that the confirmation letter you were emailed said 2pm, this was an old letter and should not have been sent as check in is from 3pm. As you can appreciate we cannot show all our bedrooms on the website. We don’t state anywhere that the bedrooms have air conditioning. We have had a rather unusual spell of hot weather this year which has both positives and negatives. I will certainly speak to the chef regarding the main hotel restaurant not being opened, however, our Knuttel Bistro serves a range of quality options including Chinese Half Glazed Duck, Tandoori Chicken Salad, Roast Camembert Tartlet, Salmon Salsa Verde. The kids room was fully equipped with lots of free toys and activities, however, a lot of these have been broken, so I do apologise about this. I am sorry that you didn’t avail of the kids club which provides 7 hours of complimentary activities per day and is going down a treat with all the parents. We do hope that you will consider giving us another chance and if you do please contact me directly on Sharon@hillgrovehotel.com.
Kind regards
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went for massages recently. While our massages were fine the facilities there were a little lacking. The relaxation room is really a corridor outside the treatment rooms with incredibly uncomfortable seating. There were no changing facilities offered and my husband used the steam room jacuzzi etc....for which there was an addition charge and they weren't really working very well. Overall an average experience and a little bit disappointing

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear mrscmac2b
I wish to reply to your recent review of our spa facilities. Firstly thank you for your lovely comments about the massage your husband and you both had. To clarify the point you made about the relaxation room. The area you are actually referring to is just the waiting area outside the treatment rooms. The relaxation area is with the thermal suite and is part of facilities which include hydrotherapy pool, herbal sauna, monsoon showers, pedi spas, ice fountain and the relaxation room. There is a charge for using the herbal suite like many other spa hotels, however, you can spend 2 hours in this area and are also given bathrobes, complimentary fruit and fresh water. We do hope that you consider returning and taking full advantage of all our facilities again.
Kind regards
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostrevor, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

this was my first stay here, but it will def not be my last. my wife and I have stayed in many hotels throughout Ireland, but I have to say that this was one of the, if not the cleanest hotel we have been in yet!! the staff from start to finish were very helpful, the food was second to none, and there seems to loads for the kids to do, so we'll have to take them with us next time!!

Room Tip: the mini suites are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Dermie44

Many thanks for your lovely review. Your comments about the cleanliness of the hotel are very much appreciated and I will certainly pass this on to the Housekeeping team. I will also let our chef know that the food went down a treat. We do hope that you return to us with your children in the very near future as during the summer months we have a full schedule of complimentary kids club activities including dodge ball, obstacle course and so on... not to mention kids pool, games room and so on.
Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ‘Majestically Magical’ 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour’s drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Rally Driving weekends and Family Breaks. Free Kids Club daily during all school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Playground, Magic Shows. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.