We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moher House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moher House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Moher House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Leenane Rd., Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 64 Westport B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A home from home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

We loved our stay at Moher House...
Marian was warm and friendly and made our party of 8 friends feel instantly at home.
The tea and cake upon arrival by the fire was great.
The rooms were homely and clean- almost like staying at a relatives house for the night..

The best part was the breakfast- Marian certainly knows how to cook and we all left the bnb very full and didn’t have to eat until dinner time!

The bnb is about 8kms out of Westport but we were made to feel so at home we didn’t mind. Would definitely recommend.

  • Liked — The hostess Marian- she was really lovely.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
30
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

Highly recommended, both the Moher House and Westport. Marian was a delightful hostess and couldn't do enough for us. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful. We will definitely return

  • Liked — Marian, the owner
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

The Moher House was lovely. Lovely host and hostess couldn't do enough for us. Absolutely charming! Neat, clean comfortable rooms. Good food and plenty of it -- loved the scones.

  • Liked — hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

What a terrific find! We called on our arrival into the town of Westport and needed rooms for 7 people. Moher House was able to accomodate us immediately. The rooms were very comfortable and the hospitality was outstanding. We stayed 3 nights. We were offered tea and cookies on our arrival and complimentary Irish Coffee as well. Our second night we returned to the house after a long rainy day and were delighted to find a roaring turf fire welcoming us back. Very cozy! Breakfast was delicious -- full Irish and homemade scones. Thank you Marian and Tommy!

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — one room was a little tight with two double beds in it -- shared with 3 people but it worked out fine
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

We stayed at the Moher House recently and were delighted with the warm and friendly reception we received from Marian O'Malley. We felt
instantly at home and it is a delightful place to stay when in Ireland.

Comfortable, friendly, filling breakfast in a lovely setting. If you are in County Mayo for an overnight, give Marian a call. Nancy Judge

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

With 3 emails and 2 telephone calls (6 weeks in advance of the need), we thought we had a reserved room with 2 beds. We were told so, each time, by the owner. However, upon arrival, we were shown our room -- one bed. The owner had given "our room" to someone else, even though we had called to confirm the reservation once again that very day. She offered to move a portable bed into the room, which was too small for that. She also suggested that we could go elsewhere. She did not offer to help us find another BB. We had already traveled all day, and 5 miles outside of the town to her BB. The heat never came on during the night and the room was cold. Definitely did not like the owner's attitude, not welcoming at all. She did cut the room charge by 2.50 Euro per person. No place nearby to eat, have to go back into the town. Would not recommend this BB due to this rude treatment.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Attitude of the owner.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moher House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moher House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Leenane Rd., Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moher House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.