We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westport Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Westport Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Westport Plaza Hotel
Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Clare, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We visited the Westport Plaza last week.. What can I say.. Fantastic! We were greeted with such a warm welcome, the service was amazing. We dined in the hotel restaurant on the Saturday and were so impressed with the food. It was 5* standard. The hotel location is very central and an ideal location for seeing Westport and surronding areas. Will definately be back there soon.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    235
    65
    22
    6
See reviews for
256
632
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
County Clare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

This hotel seems to have just about everything right, and from the look of the other reviews, have managed to keep ( most of ) the obsessive whingers away. I stayed there because of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and they deserve all the praise they get.
Excellent staff and attention to detail put this place way above anywhere else in this price range. Great, relaxing atmosphere. Plus a pint of Guinness was almost 20% cheaper than in a hotel in the same price range in Sligo.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Despite this hotel complex being quite large, the staff were so welcoming and polite that they made it feel more like a family-run hotel. It is also reasonably close to the town centre making it ideal for sampling the local restaurants and bars.
Our room and bathroom were both huge, clean and comfortable. I requested a quiet room and that was definitely what we got. I couldn't find fault with it.
We did not eat in the restaurant for dinner as there were restaurants we wanted to try in the town, but breakfast was ample. We went into the hotel bar one night and thought it was very comfortable with good staff.
Westport itself is a lovely town and we really enjoyed our 2 night stay.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Stayed here for two nights as we had a voucher to use, which unless we had wouldn't have ever stayed at this hotel due to the price. While I understand it is a "luxury" hotel and spa facility, it is not worth paying €380 for two night b&b with all the other deals available for the area. The room was fine, nicely decorated and spacious, but was nothing spectacular. The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath and seperate shower but the "balcony" feature was a very small ledge overlooking the carpark. Breakfast was by way of a pre cooked buffet which is a pet peev of mine and again, when you're paying so much you'd expect a "cooked to order" breakfast. We ate on the first night in the bar and the food was lovely and surprisingly reasonably priced, however we didn't dine in the restaraunt during our stay. The hotel is ideally located being just a 5 minute walk to the main centre of the town; it is next to the town's nightclub but we didn't notice any noise disruption. Over all this is a lovely hotel but just too expensive given the times we live in.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Party of 6 stayed in Westport Plaza. Excellect hotel, staff, food and amenities. Rooms spacious and comfortable, tea/coffee facilities.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmslow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We booked 3 nights in Gold experience and were upgraded to the Presidential Suite! First class service. EVERY member of staff were extremely helpful, polite and efficient! The Spa Sula experience was fantastic. The food excellent. Cleanliness first class. We would love to go again God willing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

I recently stayed in this hotel for two nights, my only regret is not staying for longer. This hotel has got everything right. I cannot understand why this hotel is only 4 star, it is by far one of the most superior hotels I have stayed in.
From checking in, to booking out everything was top quality. All of the staff were extremley helpful and welcoming.
The bedroom was huge, the window looked onto the main street, but you could not hear the traffic outside. It had the most comfortable bed I have ever stayed in.
Bathroom had a large shower, and jacuzzi bath.
I ate in the bar one of the nights, as we had not booked the restraunt in time. But the food was lovely, and very well priced.
I will be returning - soon hopefully.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westport Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.