We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelin Star Quality Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westport Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Westport Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Westport Plaza Hotel
Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Michelin Star Quality Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We had a most enjoyable stay in this top quality hotel, should be 5 stars due to the following:-
Michelin standard dinners beautifully cooked and presented;
the genuine friendliness of every staff member; the style and cleanliness of the rooms;
the central situation of the hotelin the town ,a short stroll to the shops and bars and all the facilities of the town;
the hotels own facilities including those of it's sister hotel which was on the same complex.
All in all 10 marks out of 10

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    235
    65
    22
    6
See reviews for
256
632
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

A great hotel with fantastic attentive staff.

We only had one problem,we did not stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

The Westport Plaza is a good quality, modern 4 star hotel, perfectly located on the eastern edge of Westport.

The room I was given seemed extra large with a second bed (a large single), so I assume it was probably a larger family room. It was equipped with a leather couch and 2 arm chairs, so clearly made for more than 2 people.

Room facilities are very good with a king sized bed, flat screen TV, air conditioning, in room safe, tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar, separate shower cubicle and even a Jacuzzi bath as standard.

I only eat breakfast in the Hotel but it was good quality with a choice of full Irish cooked breakfast, a selection of cereals, fruit and a limited choice of meats and cheese. Service in the restaurant was good as was service generally throughout the hotel. Breakfast is not for the early risers as it only opens at 07:45am but then Ireland is that kind of place.

There is also a good list of sports facilities at the Hotel which were thrown in with the package I had. This includes a well equipped gym, 20 meter pool and a sauna. I didn’t use the facilities but did have a look at them and they looked a quality modern set-up.

The Hotel is on the edge of town, the main Street it literally 2 minutes away, where there is a good choice of shops, bars and restaurants. The Hotel is on a main road and so rooms at the front of the hotel can get a little noise from the street but the road is very quiet at night and there is good double glazing.

Westport can get very busy during the day with limited parking and thus the free underground car park is a good feature.

Overall I would highly recommend this Hotel and at the price I paid it was a bargain.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

This was our second stay at the Westport Plaza having stayed in June last year also for the midweek madness offer. I cannot praise this hotel highly enough, the rooms are 5 star, lovely and spacious with a big bathroom with separate shower and jacuzzi bath as standard. We loved our stay from start to finish, the rooms, the staff, the food and services are all top notch. I will definately be coming back to this hotel and will continue to recommend the hotel to friends and family. Our in laws also stayed in this hotel on our recommendation around the same time as us and they are still raving about it.
Also the spa sula is AMAZING. I had a facial and body scrub and an hour in the thermal suite and it was the most relaxing 3 hours I have ever spent! I had similiar treatments in a 5 star hotel in Mauritius for my honeymoon a couple of years ago and I would actually rate this spa higher!
Great hotel, well worth a visit and we cannot wait until our next stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights for a wedding at another hotel. Checked in early with no problem. The rooms are very high quality, the bathroom is spacious and includes bath and shower.
Ordered room service which was very good and quick.
Highlight of the stay was the amazing spa, it was a place of pure relaxation.
All the staff I dealt with were very efficient, especially the breakfast staff who cleared finished plates from the table.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

An excellent hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. I stay here a good bit on business and it has it all. It is what a 4 star hotel should be and i believe that all other 4 star hotels should take a leaf out of their book. The rooms are clean, well designed, marble bathrooms, free movies, jacuzzi, comfy bed, nice views from the rooms, spa, super health centre etc I could go on and on.
The restuarant is excellent and the bar food is also top quality. The breakfast is excellent. The hotel`s location is just the best and there is so much to do in the westport area.
Hotel B&B Prices are good for a business traveller but a little pricey for the couple. This being said i would still recommend it by far if you can afford to stay here.
If you are staying in westport then stay here.

This review was previously posted but removed for editing.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

My wife and I picked the Westport Plaza for our wedding reception. From the beginning the manager John Clesham and his team made the whole experience easy and stress free.
We had a group of about 50 and many commented on the quality of the rooms, the service, the supreb food and the warmth of the staff.Many of the wedding guests decided to stay on for an extra day or two as they were enjoying their stay,

The personal attention we received set this hotel apart for us and made our special day stress free.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westport Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.