We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the hype” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westport Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Westport Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Westport Plaza Hotel
Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

The Plaza is supposed to be a mod hotel and it is. My husband and I stayed December 22 and 23 of the past December. By the time we left I was in back spasm for the room being frigid cold. The house keeping left us without toilet paper and face cloths two days in a row. We were given a space heater to keep warm and our room faced the loading dock and was apparently over the disco but we were not told that.

The breakfast was fair. The orange juice was sour and the eggs greasy. The wait staff at breakfast was excellent but the woman who checked us almost sent us to the Westport Hotel because she couldn't find our reservation.

It was a very cold snap in Ireland when we visitied. It is possible this is the issue but when we visited the Castle Court for lunch before departure this hotel was much warmer than the mod Plaza. It should be said that the Castle court was closed to over night guests and I am astounded that it was still warmer.

Another note is that there is no heat in the bathrooms at the Plaza. If you are visiting in the winter stay on an upper level and request and interior room.

Room service carried a 5 Euro fee for delivary. We did not visit the leisure center. Jacuzzis in the room are small and only can fit 1 person.

I would return but during the warm time of year.

Rates were cheaper on Expedia than booking through the hotel.

Westport was very quaint and my first time visiting.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnClesham, Manager at Westport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2010
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are sorry to see that you did not entirely enjoy your stay.
At the time of your stay Ireland was enduring its coldest winter in more than 30 years. However the extra heater provided by us should have warmed your room if left turned on all the time. Also if for any reason a guest is not happy with the room that they receive we are more than happy to offer an alternative room on request.
I have noted your comments on our freshly squeezed juice and fried eggs. We do offer a variety of eggs - poached , scambled , fried , boiled and omelettes.
I do apologise for our delay in locating your reservation but am pleased to see that you would return to us in the future . If returning please make yourself known to us so that we can make sure that your next stay restores your confidence in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    235
    65
    22
    6
See reviews for
256
633
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

I choose to stay at the Westport Plaza whenever I come to Westport due to its excellent location in the town. It offers me continued good service from all the friendly staff and a feeling of welcome everytime.
My teenage son enjoys all the facilities and leisure centre and more especially the good hearty breakfasts. Highly recommended .

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Plaza for my sisters wedding - the stay included 3 nights B&B and 2 Table' d'Hote dinners in the Merlot restaurant and we enjoyed every minute of it.
The staff were brilliant from the moment we arrived and they could'nt do enough to make our stay most enjoyable.
Rooms are spacious, decorated to a high standard, well appointed and very clean. The free movies and internet access were an added bonus. The bathroom was huge, with a large bath & double shower.
The food was excellent in both the resturant and at the wedding reception. The resturant also provided a varied menu which is great for people staying more than one night.
The food was the best we have eaten in any hotel we have stayed in served with the utmost efficiency.
This is a first rate hotel with a very friendly welcome.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, N. Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We spent a weekend at this hotel to celebrate my 50th birthday. It really was perfect, from the moment we arrived until we left. The staff were just lovely, nothing was too much trouble and so friendly and helpful, especially on reception. The food was wonderful, we were a little bit worried one of the nights when we shared the dinning room with several large parties, it didn't change anything, staff were as usual great as was the food. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Mayo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

Last year I organised a Hen Night in Westport and was lucky enough to have our group stay at the Plaza. First of all I must say that the staff were wonderful and very helpful during the planning stages. I popped into the Hotel a number of times to fine tune the arrangements and was always warmly welcomed and felt very certain that they had everything under control. Staff willingly showed me around the rooms, spa and dinning areas in both the Plaza and the Castlecourt. The rooms in the Plaza are amazing, all our Hens commented on how beautiful their rooms were and everyone got up early to fully enjoy the Jacuzzi in the bathroom! Dinner in the Castlecourt was perfect, service was excellent. A wonderful night of dancing in the nightclub and a few drinks in the residence bar afterwards to wind down. Over all our stay in the Plaza was wonderful, every element of it was perfect. I would suggestion anyone to go there. Thank you so much for making Susan's Hen Night an experience to remember.

Stayed August 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

I have stayed in the Plaza on numerous occasions and loved every moment of it..food, service, room were faultless. However, we were disappointed with the food both in bar and restaurant, over priced wine list, grubby cutlery and being overcharged on check out..we did enjoy ourselves but unfortunately would think twice about staying there again or recommeding it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnClesham, John Clesham. General Manager at Westport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2009
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for staying with us again.
We are dissapointed to learn in this way that you did not entirely enjoy your stay as we pride ourselves on our hotel , our service , and most of all our genuinely friendly staff. We are constantly engaged in a process of continuous improvement and we will certainly take your comments on board . In hindsight if you had brought your observations to our attention when you were at the hotel we would have gladly done whatever it takes to ensure your full satisfaction as we never want a guest to leave the hotel without being fully satified with their experience.
We certainly hope to see you again and please make your self known to us on your return so that we can restore your confidence in our fine hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Meath
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights, it was really lovely. The room was lovely, staff so helpful, food beautiful. Went to the spa back, neck and shoulder massage and indian head massage all for 55 euro. Will definately go back!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westport Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.