We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't find one fault with this hotel and we are going back for a week in July” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westport Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Westport Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Westport Plaza Hotel
Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“We couldn't find one fault with this hotel and we are going back for a week in July”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

The drive down to the Westport Plaza may be long from Dublin but on arrival it is worth every kilometer driven.
Its location is ideal, on the doorstep of Westport town itself and very easyily located off the Dublin road.
The friendliness and service from all the staff; reception, dinning room, cleaning and bar is really incredible. You are made feel so welcome and given the highest respect.
The rooms are perfect. The Kingsize bed is very comfortable with the room very well laid out and spacious. The jacuzzi bath is a lovely added bonus to an already lovely room.
Food is a real treat in this hotel and every piece of food that you are given is finished off to perfection. We never had any bother with any of our dishes and you were given exactly what you asked for. The portions were also ideal, not too much, not too little...just right!

Having Spa Sula attached to the Plaza Hotel is a brilliant treat. We had a full body massage with a free hour in the thermal suite and felt like a king and queen for the 2.5 hours. It was lovely and something different. Also for those who like to swim, you may use the swimming pool and leisure facilities in its sister hotel across the courtyard.

We have absolutely nothing negative to say about this hotel, it was a home from home with fantastic luxuries and lovely people. The best thing was that you were never made feel like you were an inconvenience like some hotels do,you were always welcomed and cared for with the best service.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    253
    71
    23
    8
See reviews for
273
673
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

This is our second stay at the Westport Plaza. As with our stay 1.5 years before the same happy staff were friendly and helpful from our reception on. With our "gold experience" the room was even better than before, being more spacious and with 2 balconies and with the usual jacuzzi bath, marble bathroom and huge flat-screen TV. My wife tells me the new spa facility is just huge and salubrious, and the spa treatments and spa staff just wonderful - one of her the best ever spa experiences. The one slight hiccup in our telephone booking was readily acknowledged, profusely apologised for, and a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for us. For a fantastic romantic relaxing stay, in the heart of Wesport and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bray,ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

Had a fantastic few days during their mid-week maddness promotion. Two hotels (its sister across the courtyard) for the price of one. Unbelieveable value. Wonderful food at very reasonable rates with 4 types of restaurant to choose from. Staff were really nice without intruding. Wonderful town and amazing countryside.
At these rates - nearly cheaper than staying at home- we will be back. Just try stopping us...

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

I felt compelled to write a review because we had such a great stay here. My wife and I booked this hotel as part of a mid week madness promotion that offered us 2 nights and bfast for only $130 total. An amazing promotion indeed. We arrived and were quickly pleased to see the beautiful lobby and library sitting area to sit. The staff ( I wish I could remember the 2 ladies names as they were so incredibly nice and helpful) were quick to offer suggestions and maps to help. The rooms are clean and of good size. They had music and movies on demand that were both free of charge. The location is central and 2 minutes walk to the best pubs and food in Westport. Free underground parking was convenient. The breakast was a large buffet of fruits, eggs, meat, yogurt etc and was served in their well decorated restaurant. Overall you cannot do any better than this in ireland. Westport is the perfect place to relax and to explore County Mayo and this hotel is one I would stay at again without a doubt. In fact, I would have a hard time staying anywhere else if I were in town again.

  • Liked — Staff, location and quality of facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing - we loved it!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

Myself and my partner stayed here for 2 nights in January. I booked it on the hotels website, and we got a great deal. We stayed in a 'Silver Experience' room, with the Midweek Madness package, which included a free bottle of wine with an evening meal in the hotel. The room itself was beautiful. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable, there was a table, hairdryer, flatscreen tv with internet on it, and best of all, a jacuzzi bath in the bathroom. Another nice touch were the bathrobes and slippers left for our use, as they were lovely and comfy. The food in the bar, the Plaza bar was gorgeous, but the best meal we had was in a Chinese resturant called the Lantern. It was located up in the town, over the bridge, and opposite the Xtra Vision store on the right hand side. The food was really really nice, one of the best chineses we've ever had. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone of any age.

  • Liked — Jacuzzi bath!
  • Disliked — Loved it all!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

My husband and I recently availed of a 2 night package in the Westport Plaza.

From start to finish I cannot find fault with our stay.
The rooms were spotless and cleaned to perfection. The mini bar was well stocked. Free internet, music and movies were included in the room.

All general areas of the hotel were immaculate.

On Check in we were told our room was not ready (we arrived early); the receptionist kindly gave us another room that was ready.
We ate both dinner and lunch in the hotel restaurant and the bar, the staff were all very courteous and the food was really of an excellent standard. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Although the breakfast room was very busy on both mornings the staff handled it very well and food was of a very good standard.

We had booked some treatments in the spa. The Sula spa is a testament to the hotel, it is absolutely fabulous. It has an outdoor rock pool, footspas, sauna, steamroom, rain showers- the works. It beats the spa in the Osprey (Naas) Mount Wolseley (Carlow) and Carton House (Kildare) hands down and all staff are very courteous and friendly. When booking a treatment you are free to use the facilities of the thermal spa which is normally 25 Euro- at first I thought it should really be free, but in hindsight you can spend a couple of hours here after your treatments so don't miss out on it for the sake of 25 Euro.

All in all a fantastic stay, and will definitely return.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

Having read the reviews here, we were delighted to find that the hotel is every bit as good as the reviews suggest, and then some ! Usually there are one or two things you'd change about a hotel. Not here, everything from start to finish was top class. We upgraded to the silver experience, this gives you a bigger room, with bathrobes and slippers. It was worth it for the extra space and bits. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, and all the food from breakfast to dinner was excellent. Rooms are beautifully decorated, and the bathrooms are luxurious too.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westport Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.