We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westport Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Westport Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Westport Plaza Hotel
Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have stayed quite a few times at this hotel and never had a chance to write a review on it. Every time we have stayed at the plaza we always leave saying the same thing "fantastic hotel".
The staff are helpful and friendly, the food is divine and the bar food is excellent value for the quality. The SPA, IM told is one of the most enjoyable and relaxing my wife has ever used (and see has used plenty of spas). The rooms are spotless spacious and very comfortable, they have everything you would expect in a good 4 star except a fridge/minibar.
The leisure center is shared with its sister hotel and the public and is fine.

Overall, what makes this hotel special is the high standard applied trough out the whole hotel - from the bed linian - food - in room entertainment - staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    235
    65
    22
    6
See reviews for
256
632
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Apologies firstly to Ann Corcoran for taking so long to get around to this Thank you but needless to say it was too good not to mention it anyways and so now at last I am!!! My family and I spent our secound xmas here with the good company of the plaza. All I can say is if its possible it just gets nicer every year and the staff forever more professional and outstanding. There is no fault from the moment you walk thr the door and our met to the moment you leave. The general manager John Cleasham as always seeing xmas through like it was his home and Ruairi, Fiona and Donna forever giving in their task of pleasing everyone no matter what the task at reception. The atmosphere is one of complete relaxation but with all the joys of christmas delivered like it was home away from home but of course the ten star standard of what a hotel should be. The rooms are spacious and delightful decoration with the food in a league of michelan star. The head chief Xavier although responsible for extra calories through our stay delievered his excellance and Alexandra and Peter in the restaurant made it an experance to delight too. I have worked as a travel agent for many years and travelled to many grand hotels but this is defiently where my heart lies and my christmas with my family belongs. Thank you so much Ann and everyone for yet again another fabulous xmas and looking forward to bringing more of my family this year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and what an experience. If you are going for something to eat, Restuarant merlo is the place to visit. Julie and her team were excellent, but we discovered not only superb food but a member of staff who was so helpful with explaining the menu, and looking after us and her name was Natalia or similar. This girl is a wonderful ambassador for this exceptional hotel. We ate there on both evenings had breakfast as well and the attention to detail by staff is fantastic. Congratulations to the owners for the superb training provided to staff, and the balancing of efficiency and great customer care.
We will be back very soon and all because of the great food and service, and the wonderful staff. Both Julie and Natalia should be the face of Irish tourism, we need people like them. Well done to all and a most enjoyable experience for us thanks to a fabulous team.. See you soon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in the Westport Plaza on the 21st of April for three nights. The parking underneath the hotel was very convenient as the lift takes you right to reception. Our room was really spacious and the mattress was a dream. The bathroom really impressed me as there was a jacuzzi bath and a separate large shower. There was a problem with the washbasin tap and on calling reception it was resolved immediately. Our room also had a small balcony which was lovely. During our stay we ate in both the restaurant and the bar and were more than happy on both occasions. We both used the spa and found it extremely relaxing, especially the outdoor jacuzzi. The staff were really nice and very helpful. All in all a great experience and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our first time to stay at this hotel and it certainly won't be our last.
It is a lovely bright, clean and modern hotel. The bedrooms are very spacious, luxurious and the beds are extremely comfortable. The television system is a fantastic idea with the option of been able to access movies, this option was great for our kids to watch movies! Our rooms had a little balcony with a lovely view! The bathroom was large with beautiful marble, all mod cons and had a fantastic shower.
The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times, there was always plenty of staff on duty in the relevant areas.
Breakfast was amazing, with a large variety of foods on offer and catered for all dietry needs, Dinner was included in our package and it also did'nt disappoint!
The pool was bright and clean with a small kiddies pool.
Cannot wait to return to this hotel! Well done to all staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I had a great experience in this hotel recently for a reunion of old friends. I loved that it was in the middle of town and that there was parking available thro' the archway and off the street. The staff is excellent and very friendly. My room was wonderfully comfortable. I didn't have a view but that was of little consequence as the picturesque town of Westport and all it has to offer is just outside. Breakfasts were the best! I will definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is our second time to stay in this brilliant hotel. The staff are first class. We were there 2 hours early and our room was ready for us.Our room had 2 windows looking out onto the waterfountain and there was very little noise at night.The room was spotless and the bed was so comfortable. It says alot when you go back to the hotel and you see the same staff. Cant wait to visit again.The food was lovely in the bar and came out very fast from the kitchen. Keep up the great work !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westport Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.