We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definately visit again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westport Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Westport Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Westport Plaza Hotel
Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Will definately visit again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

Very impressed as soon as we entered the hotel and the underground parking was an added bonus. The staff were attentive at all times and could not do enough for you. When we went up to our room it was lovely and we had a view over the courtyard. The room was very comfortable with plasma tv with free internet use. There were also tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom was amazing with double shower, jacuzzi bath and shining like a new pin. The bed was very comfortable. Overall we had an excellent stay and would give it 10/10.

  • Liked — Room - bed very comfortable and the bathroom decor
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    235
    65
    22
    6
See reviews for
257
633
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

Stayed for 3 nights in the Westport Plaza during the weekend of Feb 15th. Booked the Silver Experience with 3 nights B&B with 2 dinners. I stay in a large number of hotels through work and have to say I would find it difficult to fault this hotel. Staff, customer service, facilities all very high quality. Free movies in the room, very clean throughout. The food in the restaurant is very good as well. I saw some ok reviews for this hotel on this site which had me slightly worried but had no problems at all. I will be staying here again.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

We had a gorgeous night at the Westport Plaza. Beautifully appointed bedroom and bathroom and they are all the same quality. very luxurious I thought for ordinary standard rooms. Staff were more than helpful and we really liked the lounge area. Perfect for just hanging out and reading a novel.

We had a drink at the hotel bar and then wandered up town for dinner which I'd recommend. There are loads of choices in Westport.
We ate in a place called Mangos on Bridge Street..lots of seafood options..very enjoyable!

We would definitely stay at the Westport Plaza again without a doubt..

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the air conditioning in the bedroom - it was hard to warm up
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

We are so delighted that we decided to have our wedding reception at this lovely modern hotel. All the staff were more than helpful throughout the whole planning and on the day itself. The food was delicious - tasty, hot and plenty for seconds if anyone wanted it. The accomodation was of an excellent standard with access to the roof top garden from our and many other rooms. Family and friends who stayed there were very pleased too. Its also within easy walking distance of the many quaint old pubs Westport has to offer. Would highly recommend this hotel for a luxury weekend, and we'll definitely be back.

  • Liked — The rooms the food and friendliness
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

Just after returning home from a fantastic , most enjoyable stay at the Westport Plaza Hotel . What a hotel . From the moment your arrive your every wish is catered for . The Staff are Excellent , The girls at reception make you feel at home the moment you walk in that door.The hotel it self oh my god , the jacuzzi bath .The beds are just out of this world ,and to top it off FREE internet , movies and music. What a treat. Ate in the restaurant the first night oh what a delight , and the staff in the restaurant were excellent. We then said we would try the bar food the next night, and no surprise there it was brillant and also the bar staff that couldnt do an enough for us. This hotel is a credit to its owner and staff that work there. We will be back.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan0808
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

On arriving it was clear that the location was fantastic, however it's proximity to the town was more than offset by the nightclub, numerous pubs and chipper adjacent to the hotel. Westport's newest hotel I was told it had great internet and tv equipment, however these cost almost 40euro extra. It was already quite an overpriced hotel but this was too much. The rooms were most comfortable however the crowd leaving the nightclub below the hotel were far too loud and I could have sworn I heard a fight just below me on the street. Overall it is a nice hotel but I wouldn't recommend it to anybody. Loud, many staff don't speak english. I've been to westport many times before and this was by far the least comfortable stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Pretty much everything else
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyshannon, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

Westport Plaza is a lovely hotel, very modern and clean.
Staff were helpful and friendly.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Westport
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westport Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.